We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, modern, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay, modern, quiet”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in an executive room, overall enjoyable stay and sizeable room. Few niggles with bottled water and facecloth not being replaced every day but mentioned to reception and was put right quickly.
I ate in the restaurant twice and it was deathly quiet, however I had a lot of work to do so didn't mind. Breakfast is cooked to order and was delicious. Signage isn't ideal outside, however having read these reviews I knew this in advance.
I travel to Manchester regularly and will definately choose to stay here again.
Clean, modern, good value and really helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    563
    272
    115
    52
See reviews for
116
811
61
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

just spent a night at this fantastic hotel, just wished we could have stayed longer, from the moment we arrived we just knew we had found a little gem of a hotel, check in was fast and effeciant , our room was spotless and very comfortable, the bed was huge with six fluffy pillows , i just did,nt want to get up.breakfast was amazing with a large choice of food on offer,worth every penny i can assure you , the staff at this hotel are very warm and proffesional,nothing was to much for them,we will definatley be returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingrid999187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunningwell, Oxford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed one night as a single woman travelling for business. I've stayed at a number of central Manchester hotels, and this is the one I will return to next time I go to Manchester. The staff are very friendly, the room (203) was a good size, stylishly furnished, with a great bathroom with bath and shower. The welcome was good (once I found the reception which was tucked away at the back of the building) and checking in was quick and easy.

The room was very quiet - something that can't be said for many city centre hotels - I was really impressed by this.

Breakfast was excellent - greeted and seated by the friendly staff - good choice of cereals, fruit, lovely croissants, really nice 'real bread' toast. Realy good.

It is a little confusing to find, but it's worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend-28th & 29th January. We checked in to our room however the air conditioning was faulty so within 10 minutes we had been moved to a more spacious room with no hassle at all. Staff are very friendly and the hotel is in a good location. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2011 (sorry about the late posting). On arriving at the hotel I walked past it as the signage outside still had the name of the previous hotel. On entering the hotel there was a large queue at reception with only one receptionist on duty. Obviously people waiting at the reception to check in were unhappy to say the least. The receptionist was not particuarly welcoming or friendly.

I finally got checked into my room and it was very nice. The room had 2 twin beds, a seating area with a sofa, another table with 2 chairs, free standing lamps and the usual things. It also had large floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom was large and all in black tiles, black marble flooring, a seperate shower cubicle and bath. The bathroom was lovely. The only thing about the black tiling made it a little dull. I liked it though.

I only ate breakfast in the hotel. The breakfast was buffet style for continental but you ordered any hot food, toast, coffee/tea. The breakfast was very nice and something to suit every taste whether you wanted continental or full english.

I only had one complaint while staying at the hotel and that was about housekeeping. on two seperate occasions I returned to my room to find that the bed had not been made and wet towels were left lying on the bathroom floor. In addition, the room was rather dusty and was not cleaned for the first 4 days that I was at the hotel. I complained on the fourth day and the lady in charge of housekeeping came immediately and made the beds, gave us fresh towels and dusted the room. She was most apologetic.

The only other minor gripe was the staff working on reception were not very friendly or welcoming. While it didn't bothe me, I can see that it might bother some guests. Sadly it does not give a good impression of the hotel. On a positive side, Harvey (I think he was Guest Relations Manager) was lovely and went out of his way to be friendly and helpful to guests. Whenever you saw him he had a smile on his face and spoke to everyone. What a nice man and a real credit to the hotel.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The food was delicious. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. I would also recommend the townhouse to others. However, I think the hotel should iron out the minor difficulties, particularly in relation to housekeeping and the less than welcoming staff on reception.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleyk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
0.0 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.5 km away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#24 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,535 - ₹ 17,762
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing