We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An excellent evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This review is for the Wyvern Restaurant at the Midland Hotel in Manchester, we did not stay at the Hotel so I cannot comment on the accommodation.

I bought a deal on line for my wife and I to have a two course dinner with a glass of bubbly each at the Wyvern Restaurant in the Midland, Manchester for £25.

I have a friend who often goes to the Midland and stays the night, just to dine there, so I thought this would be the time to try it.

I always reserve judgement on these deals as they can be very good or terrible, particularly at a five star hotel. £25, I ask you!!

We took a cab from the other side of Manchester and arrived at the Midland.

Immediately we were impressed. The very smart gentleman on the door greeted us politely and asked where we were going, I told him "the Wyvern".
"Follow me sir" he said.

He took us to the Wyvern Restaurant and called a waitress over and asked her to look after us. From then on the evening just got better.
We were given our two glasses of bubbly but I ordered a bottle of wine as well.
The menu choice was very good for a deal.
The starter, we both had Salmon Pate, was fantastic.
The main course, Goosnargh Chicken which we also both had, was also excellent.
I suppose we got carried away as we had sweets and coffee as well.

OK, so I finished up with a bill for £35 on top, but what a night.
The staff were polite, friendly and helpful, the food excellent, the wine certainly not as expensive as I would have expected it.

I noticed in one review the reviewer says "I never saw the manager", neither did I, but if the restaurant runs as well as that you don't need to.

Congratulations to the staff and the chef for a superb night. I would certainly recommend you try it, I will certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear keyboardCheshire,

Thanks so much for your kind review about The Wyvern Restaurant. Made all the better given the range of places that you have visited and the ratings on the reviews you have written. We are aware of the reputation of The Midland and so set out always to deliver service and food quality 'par excellence' however no matter how many times guests tell us as such it is ALWAYS very pleasing to read that we achieved that standard, a great experience plus great value for money.

I also see from previous reviews that you enjoy Afternoon Tea and would encourage you to book one of ours (Tip: Book early as we do fill months in advance) as that is quite a 'Mancunian' occasion also.

Most importantly this reply is just to say THANK YOU for highlighting just how much you enjoyed yourselves and I will pass your comments onto The Wyvern team.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,592
    1,333
    469
    143
    78
See reviews for
622
1,848
159
1,107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel is excellent . we stayed in room 345 !! excellent large room with 2 double beds

Only thing i would say is add hot chocolate to the coffee and tea tray as our daughter who is 8 would have had this.
Also maybe get a discount of 20% for parking with the NCP as other hotels do this.

Pool is excellent, and the breakfast WOW so much choice but they lady in the restaurant made my daughter a hot chocolate for a drink so thanks.

Nice touch as it was my hubbys birthday a bottle of red wine and a birthday card x

We went to the indian in the square fab and the best one we have had for a while !!!

Would i stay again most definately YES !!!!!!!

See us next year !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Judith944,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and please be assured that we take your comments on board as we look always to ever improve our guest(s) experience.

That said I was pleased to read that one of our team at breakfast delivered hot chocolate and that you would recommend us to others and make The Midland your first port of call when next in Manchester.

Of course we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here whilst on a weekend away in Manchester. It has an ideal central location and the building itself is very impressive with a luxurious feel.
The staff at check in were efficient and welcoming. The rooms are of a very high standard, modern, clean and very roomy for a city centre hotel.
On all of the corridor walls are pictures or letters showing a litte piece of history, dating back years from people who have stayed in the hotel, these make for an interesting read.
We didn't eat in the hotel as we were out at dinner time but the breakfast was faultless. Plenty of options with excellent service.
I would definitely reccommend The Midland for anyone staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teezer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Teezer32,

Thank you for highlighting just how much your husband and yourself enjoyed your time with us. The Midland is an iconic, landmark hotel steeped in history which, as you have kindly mentioned, we like to present to guests at every opportunity as you would expect of Manchesters Hotel with so much to tell others about.

Really pleased that you were delighted with your room and that our breakfast met with your satisfaction.

Finally thank you for your kind recommendation to others about the hotel you would choose to stay at when in the city.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 10/8-12/8 for my hen weekend and could not fault the hotel.

We were met from our taxi and our luggage taken into hotel, check in was quick and easy.

I stayed in room 347 which was the midland suite and what can i say...WOW. A large bedroom with a large bed which could easily sleep three, a single bed had also been put in the room to make it a triple. The bathroom had a shower, bath with shower and hotel provided shampoo etc as well as robes and slippers. The living area was also spacious and provided the great set up for our pj party. There was a TV in each room and Cd player. The room also had a hairdresser.

The hotel also provided a chocolate fountain and champagne for the Pj party which was great.

Breakfast was buffet style but loads of choice, cereals, fruit, toast, pastries, and a cooked breakfast served between 7-11 which was ideal.

The leisure club although small had a Jacuzzi and sauna and a small pool. There was also a gym in the hotel.

The hotel was 5min in a taxi form Manchester Piccadilly station which we traveled into and was £5 in a taxi. There is pubs and restaurants nearby.

Had a brilliant stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: The midland suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear kim23,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments about your stay generally including our preparations and how well the team delivered what you wanted.

I was also very pleased to read that you made use of most of our amenities and services and that you felt we were well situated for transport links both in and out of the city centre.

Many thanks once again and we look forward toy your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We turned up in Manchester without accommodation, had difficulty finding accommodation and were lucky enough to walk into the Midland. After some shuffling, they were able to find us a family room. They could have easily turned us away but thankfully they were able to squeeze us in.

Rooms was of a very high standard, facilities were a nice surprise (table tennis, substantial gym and swimming pool, and good restaurants) and the staff were very helpful.

Breakfast was brilliant - best scrambled eggs in a long time.

Price was good value for a family room with breakfast included in such a nice hotel.

We will be back next time we come to Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDogAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear RedDogAdelaide,

Thanks so much for your very kind review it is appreciated. Really pleased to read that the team were able to accommodate you and that they organised your room to your satisfaction so quickly. We'd be delighted to see you again and I hope that you got back to Adelaide without too much hassle as that's quite a long journey especially with young ones to look after.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 19 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
0.3 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,016 - ₹ 36,314
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing