We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midland
Nearby Hotels
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 176
US$ 161
Hilton
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 71
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 137
US$ 125
Doubletree
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 122
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 150
US$ 109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 119
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (5,411)
Filter reviews
5,414 results
Traveller rating
3,079
1,509
546
183
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,079
1,509
546
183
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr coopersafternoon teaq hotelsoctagon loungebeautiful hotelsuperior roomfantastic staymini barreception areacentral manchestersaturday nightlovely roomcooked breakfastcity centrestayed for one nightmember of staffmidlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,237 - 4,242 of 5,414 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I didnt stay here but went to the Wyvern Restaurant on the living social deal.
We had a dink in the lounge bar before our meal,and the service was quite slow so we werent expecting great things.
However,when we got to the restaurant we were met by a very polite young man ( matthew) who instantly made us feel relaxed. After hed shown us to our table our waiter(paul) came to take our order. He was verykowledgeable and professional and dealt with our minor complaint about the food instantly and genuinely seemed to care.
The food was very nice,but its the people that made our night.
Would go back

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dae james e,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Wyvern Restaurant it is appreciated. I'm sorry that in some areas you were disappointed but pleased overall that you enjoyed yourself and would return.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Today we had a great experience of Afternoon Tea in the Octagon room. My partner has a complicated diet due to allergies and we emailed ahead to Dawn (the Service Manager) who sorted everything out without a fuss or a hitch. All the staff were friendly and happy to help and the chefs provided delicious courses for us. This was a lovely anniversary treat and we would highly recommend the experience to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyG5623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear JennyG5623,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind words. Our Afternoon Tea is world renowned but the team do try their very best to ensure that any special dietary requirement is accommodated as long as we have advance notice which I thank you for having provided.

We look forward to your return and I'm so pleased that we were part of your special day. I will pass you comments onto Dawn and Chef and their staff.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Midland used to be Manchesters finest hotel, a place of granduer and sophistication and somewhere to be certain that service was paramount, the room was clean and cosy - no problems there at all. Unfortunately there was a wedding being held in the hotel and the overspill were coming into the residents bar which was 10 people deep and had 4 busy chaps running around behind it of which only 1 was serving, the rest were looking after the restaurant and wedding, it took 20 mins to be served and then we find that measures of spirits are doubles only -great???, the worst was in the morning when we had to que at 10:00 for 30 mins to get in for breakfast as the restaurant was full, obviously wedding guests coming for breakfast at the allocated time had caught the hotel totally unawares... think we will try elsewhere next time!

Room Tip: keep away from the function rooms, the noise went on until 2:00am !
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Martin B,

Thank you for taking the time to review us it is appreciated. I'm sorry that you had to wait for your drinks in the evening and a table at breakfast time as normally we deliver both to a very high standard as you should would have expected in spite of being a very busy hotel. The staff at The Midland pride themselves on delivering great, efficient service that usually exceeds expectations but on this occasion you've told us that we've underperformed and I'm really sorry about that.

If you would be kind enough to be get in touch prior to your next visit to the City Centre I've no doubt that we can ensure everything for you is delivered to the standard that you anticipate as generally, as you will see by our other reviews, that is what we are renowned for and make every effort to plan for success in each of our departments daily.

Thank you once again and I look forward to meeting you in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked a special offer two night stay at The Midland over a weekend. The hotel is a lovely building with a spacious reception area and public rooms. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, breakfast was good and staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel was very busy with a couple of weddings but the service was still very good. We were a little surprised at the bar prices though, I feel that £23.54 for a gin & tonic and a glass of wine is expensive even for a city hotel. Excellent location for city centre attractions and shopping. Parking at the nearby NCP car park is convenient and costs £18.40 per night. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again when visiting family in Manchester.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasaMuriloFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear CasaMuriloFans,

Many thanks for your kind review and comments it is appreciated. I'm sorry that you felt our drinks were expensive however we do operate on a doubles bar so I will ask the team to make sure they explain this to future guests so that they can make a decision to have a double or a single; to be fair the reason we do it is because on many occasions our bar is so busy and we want our guests to relax and enjoy themselves with the table service that they expect. That said we only use the finest products and we regularly measure our prices against the city centre (hotel) competition to ensure we remain value for money.

Delighted to read also that you will be returning so please let me know in advance when you decide to do so.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review The Midland.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a 2 night stay in the Midland and we were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and everything was first class. It was only a 5 minute walk from the main bars and shops and close to all other attractions. The staff were superb and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for quality and first class service.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebelxccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Rebelxccc,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for highlighting many of the facets of this magnificent building and great team that helps to deliver a great experience for anyone visiting Manchester.

We look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews