We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the Midland for one night to attend a wedding. Location of the hotel is great, a stone's throw from the Town Hall and the centre of Manchester. We booked a superior twin for the four of us (two adults, 1 3 yo and 1 baby). This room was a great size with two double beds and plenty of space for the travel cot. We had requested a early check-in (check-in is normally 3pm) to get ready for the wedding and had been told this would be registered but could not be guaranteed. When we arrived in Manchester at 11.30am, we went to the hotel to ask if the room would be ready before 3pm, and a brilliant member of staff told us a room was ready! This made our preparations for the wedding so much easier. Fantastic service!
We enquired about breakfast for the following morning, but thought £15 each (and a further £7.50 for our 3 year-old) was too expensive so we went elsewhere. Having said that, we did get a good rate on the room by booking a couple of months in advance.
All in all, an excellent hotel with great character and excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshDragon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear WelshDragon74,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to meet your request for an early check in as sometimes this is not possible due to a number of factors.

Great to read that our team played their part and that you were happy with the preparations that we had made in relation to your room. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,705
    1,376
    490
    150
    78
See reviews for
647
1,915
162
1,165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I didnt stay here but went to the Wyvern Restaurant on the living social deal.
We had a dink in the lounge bar before our meal,and the service was quite slow so we werent expecting great things.
However,when we got to the restaurant we were met by a very polite young man ( matthew) who instantly made us feel relaxed. After hed shown us to our table our waiter(paul) came to take our order. He was verykowledgeable and professional and dealt with our minor complaint about the food instantly and genuinely seemed to care.
The food was very nice,but its the people that made our night.
Would go back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dae james e,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Wyvern Restaurant it is appreciated. I'm sorry that in some areas you were disappointed but pleased overall that you enjoyed yourself and would return.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Today we had a great experience of Afternoon Tea in the Octagon room. My partner has a complicated diet due to allergies and we emailed ahead to Dawn (the Service Manager) who sorted everything out without a fuss or a hitch. All the staff were friendly and happy to help and the chefs provided delicious courses for us. This was a lovely anniversary treat and we would highly recommend the experience to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyG5623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear JennyG5623,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind words. Our Afternoon Tea is world renowned but the team do try their very best to ensure that any special dietary requirement is accommodated as long as we have advance notice which I thank you for having provided.

We look forward to your return and I'm so pleased that we were part of your special day. I will pass you comments onto Dawn and Chef and their staff.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Midland used to be Manchesters finest hotel, a place of granduer and sophistication and somewhere to be certain that service was paramount, the room was clean and cosy - no problems there at all. Unfortunately there was a wedding being held in the hotel and the overspill were coming into the residents bar which was 10 people deep and had 4 busy chaps running around behind it of which only 1 was serving, the rest were looking after the restaurant and wedding, it took 20 mins to be served and then we find that measures of spirits are doubles only -great???, the worst was in the morning when we had to que at 10:00 for 30 mins to get in for breakfast as the restaurant was full, obviously wedding guests coming for breakfast at the allocated time had caught the hotel totally unawares... think we will try elsewhere next time!

Room Tip: keep away from the function rooms, the noise went on until 2:00am !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Martin B,

Thank you for taking the time to review us it is appreciated. I'm sorry that you had to wait for your drinks in the evening and a table at breakfast time as normally we deliver both to a very high standard as you should would have expected in spite of being a very busy hotel. The staff at The Midland pride themselves on delivering great, efficient service that usually exceeds expectations but on this occasion you've told us that we've underperformed and I'm really sorry about that.

If you would be kind enough to be get in touch prior to your next visit to the City Centre I've no doubt that we can ensure everything for you is delivered to the standard that you anticipate as generally, as you will see by our other reviews, that is what we are renowned for and make every effort to plan for success in each of our departments daily.

Thank you once again and I look forward to meeting you in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked a special offer two night stay at The Midland over a weekend. The hotel is a lovely building with a spacious reception area and public rooms. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, breakfast was good and staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel was very busy with a couple of weddings but the service was still very good. We were a little surprised at the bar prices though, I feel that £23.54 for a gin & tonic and a glass of wine is expensive even for a city hotel. Excellent location for city centre attractions and shopping. Parking at the nearby NCP car park is convenient and costs £18.40 per night. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again when visiting family in Manchester.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaMuriloFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear CasaMuriloFans,

Many thanks for your kind review and comments it is appreciated. I'm sorry that you felt our drinks were expensive however we do operate on a doubles bar so I will ask the team to make sure they explain this to future guests so that they can make a decision to have a double or a single; to be fair the reason we do it is because on many occasions our bar is so busy and we want our guests to relax and enjoy themselves with the table service that they expect. That said we only use the finest products and we regularly measure our prices against the city centre (hotel) competition to ensure we remain value for money.

Delighted to read also that you will be returning so please let me know in advance when you decide to do so.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review The Midland.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,810 - ₹ 26,620
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing