We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wedding weekend at The Midland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend at The Midland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Had to travel to a family wedding and the hotel proved excellent for the event. Bar prices are a little high, but otherwise everything was as good as expected.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Ian H,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your comments which are appreciated.

Great to read that the wedding that you attended went so well and that the hotel, our team and our amenities were enjoyed by all you party.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,531
    1,316
    458
    140
    77
See reviews for
600
1,812
158
1,087
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent a night in the midland hotel on Friday the 27th of April 2012.
The entrance and foyer were very grand and impressed we stayed in room 115 and although you could hear the trams outside it did not stop me from sleeping. The breakfast was good and we would look to stay here again but would try not to stay in a room over looking the tramlines. No parking was a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Mpa88,

Trust me there's plenty of choice for everyone of our guests to be able to choose a special room that they prefer whilst here. Thank you for your kind comments about our ambience, lobby and breakfast. When next you are planning to visit please get in touch as I'd like to show you a series of rooms for you to choose from.

Thank you also for taking the time to review The Midland and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

warm and freindly staff what more can i say , Great hotel excellent staff service at its best.

look out for the concerige team , they deliver above and more , london hotels should take note.

funny warm and charming but overall proffesional. Thank You . you made our visit.

Room Tip: ask for inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear John P,

You are very kind to rate us so highly but it was for the comment of our team being warm and friendly that I thank you most for as that is always our aim. We're lucky to have this amazing building to show off so alls we need to do is deliver great service, smile, make guests very welcome and be ever hospitable.

By doing that the team and the hotel receives the kind of praise that makes it all worthwhile and so very succinctly you've managed to highlight this with your description of your stay with us.

We look forward to your return and thank you once again.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Midland recently and I cannot say enough good stuff about the place. I stay in lots of hotels due to my job, and this place is right up there with the best of them.

Of particular note was the service in the bistro restaurant - first class. I really must splash out on the French restaurant one day soon...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear LeeStoker,

Thank you for your kind review about our team, our hotel and our restaurants. We are very lucky in that we have two outstanding dining experiences (The Wyvern: Casual / The French: Fine Dining) that both have an excellent reputation; however is is always refreshing to read that guests really enjoyed themselves.

I agree also that you need to try The French in the future and we look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland,
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We arrived exhausted after non-stop-flight from NZ! Felt we had walked into set of Downton Abbey! Great atmosphere, great staff, great room, great gym, and great breakfast! We liked everything about this warm and welcoming hotel, and it underpinned a very happy 5 days in Manchester. Excellent location near city centre. Tram stop across the road, but you can easily walk to the big shops, the town hall, and the city's wonderful art gallery. Manchester's easy to explore by foot and the Midland's doormen are a great source of advice. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a "inside" room away from the street which was very quite inside if a little gloomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDEBAuckland_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear EDEBAuckland,

Great to hear from a visitor from New Zealand and thank you for your very kind remarks about..... well the whole of your stay and not only just The Midland but also Manchester and what it has to offer as a great 'must visit' destination. Smashing also to read that people who live in such a lovely country as you do enjoyed themselves so much whilst here with us.

Thank you once again and if ever you're passing this way please let me know so we can look after you again.

All the very best from The Midland, Manchester, England

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.7 km away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#8 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.6 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 118 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,065 - ₹ 23,030
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing