We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice hotel not very nice sleep!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“nice hotel not very nice sleep!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My family and i stayed in this hotel for one night, the hotel is nice to start with, staff are polite. But at night time when we came to go bed, my children slept on a sofa bed and my partner and i slept on a double bed. The double bed was the worse bed i have ever slept in, i woke up 3 or 4 times as i couldnt get comfy. The mattress was extremely soft it was like lying on cotton wool and we also had no space between us as we rolled together. We were only given 1 pillow each to sleep with and had to use a sofa cushion as an extra pillow. Room was extremely small even more so due to the sofa bed being pulled out. Bathroom was lovely and clean.
In the morning for breakfast we had a shock to find the reception, bar and breakfast area are all in a line and very small proximity. the area for breakfast seating is extremely cramped and some seating is way too close to the breakfast counter, breakfast overall was not too bad, very simple but also the breakfast area in which you get your food is too cramped for more than a few people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emillward979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

Our mattresses our less than 2 years old and are turned on a regular basis. It is a suprise that you had this experience. We have 4 pillows in each room and extra pillows are available at reception on request. However, I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention.

We do recognise that our breakfast area has limited space and do encourage guests to stagger the time that they come down to breakfast on notices in the lift. This then allows a little extra room for guests to manoeuvre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    420
    182
    52
    34
See reviews for
131
269
62
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Perfect for a weekend break, rooms are top class and breakfast is HI Express spec. Please note parking is in NCP on Chester Street/Road so add 10 pound per night for that. Overall very lively area and plenty to do. Staff were helpful and friendly. You won't be bored that's for sure.

Travelers tip: get a room on the highest floor available that way you won't hear any noise.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Than you for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words.

Hopefully other travellers will find this helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Arrived about 4pm on a busy saturday afternoon for a 1 night stay. Arrived by train which meant just a 2 minute walk from the railway station. Was booked in promptly at reception, the young blonde lady who booked us in was very helpful, answering our questions about the local area and giving us a complimentary map so we didn't get lost! The room on the 7th floor was superb, spotless clean, great bathroom and shower and a very comfortable bed. Enjoyed a drink in the bar which was reasonably priced. Breakfast was fabrics - and checkout was quick. All staff we spoke to were polite and friendly and very helpful. Top marks!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

I have passed yopur comments onto Sarah regarding your check-in experience. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look foreward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just come back from a long weekend break here with 10 friends. We had 5 rooms here.

The hotel itself is about 15minute walk from Deansgate where most of the shops, clubs, pubs etc seem to be located. Its easy to get to by car, with an NCP car park just around the corner. The hotel validates your card, reducing the 24hour parking rate down from £17.50 to about £10 per day.

The hotel itself was very nice. We were all very impressed. Lobby area and reception nice and clean, lifts look brand new. The carpets and corridoors all spick and span, the rooms were all a good size, nice new looking bathrooms, lcd telly, all clean. Curtains very good blackout ones. We had rooms on 3rd and 5th floors and no noise at all was heard.

The only critisim I had about the rooms was that the showers were not very powerful and they didnt leave much tea / coffee making stuff. But that was it.

The hotel has a seating area near reception and a small bar. This is also where you get breakfast. The bar itself was reasonably small, and their prices were quite expensive. Nearly 4quid for a pint of beer. But it was a handy place to meet my friends before heading out on the town.

The breakfast I was not looking forward to as nearly every review I read said their breakfasts were rubbish. You get a "cooked" breakfast, help your self, which is just scrambled eggs, beans and sausages. They were okay, but nothing great. Everyone commented on wheres the bacon!

You get break, cousants, cereal, grapefruit etc also. So, all in all everyone had a good fill. The coffee machine they had there did a mean expresso.

The best thing for us was the price. We got a good deal so each room was around £70 a night, which for the quality of the hotel we felt was a brilliant deal.

Only other bad point I would say was the reception desk easily got swamped. They had 2 people on the desk and when it came to checkout time, people were queuing all over the place. I noticed most people tend to come here in large parties, so there was at least 5 hen & stag parties staying here, so when they came to checkout you could hardly move!

Finally, the desk staff were all very polite and helpful. A+

Id definately consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Apparently there is a "noisey" and a "quiet" side according to the receptionist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackinbox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.

It is a shame that the shower was not as powerful as we would like and we have looked at all showers to establish thye problem. Our showers are set at a good pressure.

We are limited with our breakfast offering and cannot offer a full range but do try to offer the best quality in our products. We are limited for space but do everything in our powers to keep people moving through the reception area.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheslyn Hay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel is ideally located in the heart on Manchester, the check in was very efficient and I have to say that the rooms were of a high standard - clean and modern and looked like they had not long been refurbished.

All was great untill it came to breakfast. Bufet breakfast is "complimentary" and I can see why. The breakfast area only holds 25% of the amount of people that actually require breakfast. You queue up for a considerable amount of time to get your food and then have a choice- wait and hope a table become s free or juggle a full breakfast tray up to your room - there is a sign that does say you can do this. For the £108 we paid, this was certainly not cheap and to be honest the Ibis or the Thistle is cheaper and the breakfast experience is more as you would expect for a hotel rather than the holiday camp style meal that the Holiday Inn serves up.

We have given this hotel a rating of 3 due to the rooms but will never stay here again so as not to put ourselves through the awful breakfast experience again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your comments reagarding your stay with us. The hotel is in fact now nearly 2 years old and has been kept in good condition and there has been no refurbishment.

Breakfast can be a very busy time as we are limited with the space that we have. We do give guidance at both check-in and in the lifts at the best time to visit the breakfats area. As you have kindly mentioned we do provide trays and welcome guests to take their breakfast back to their room should we be in our busiest period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
12.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
8.0 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#48 of 118 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
7.5 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
8.0 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Manchester
#41 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#41 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,935 - ₹ 11,378
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing