We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to work out”

The Manchester Museum
Ranked #5 of 189 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Manchester Museum is home to an array of treasures from the natural world and the many cultures it is home to. Highlights include a T.rex and fossils of other pre-historic creatures, ancient Egyptian artefacts and live amphibians and reptiles. You can handle objects from the collection, take part in hands-on activities or enjoy a glass of wine of cup of coffee whilst exploring the latest ideas in science, culture and the arts.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very hard to work out”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We took our three children to the museum yesterday, we were very disappointed. When we first entered the museum the first exhibit was a temporary one very hard to understand exactly what the task was that the children had to complete!! When we went upstairs the displays were very impressive but unfortunately the index for all the stuffed animals was on the wall at the side and it was impossible to read because of people standing in front of it, it would have been much better if each animal had an information card with things of interest written on. Childrens ages 14,12,10. Children couldn't see facts re animals and got bored very quickly!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky230201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,082
    558
    121
    26
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely rubbish bordem”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I'm very disappointed with what I saw at the museum as were my children I remember when it took me hours to walk around the museum as a child and teenager. Now you take like 45minutes to do it. I promised my child that he would see dinosaurs but to my disappointment there was none maybe a couple of bones and a fake tree stump. The museum has been divided in half if not more it was very very boring I'm just relieved that you don't have to pay because I would of wanted my money back!!!!!!!!! I don't know what has happened to the museum but I can definatly say I will never return unless something was done about this. And it's a shame really cos I was really looking forward to it !!!!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great day”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Great day,they are fab with kids who can be hands on and enjoy everything .. Best of all is that it is free...

Helpful?
Thank mikeisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You have to visit here”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Wow, so much to see and do! Real mummies, dinosaurs and lots, lots more. A lovely cafe or picnic areas. You definitely won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ShellyBobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“take the kids”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

if you cant take your kids or grandkids to this superb museum just take yourself its fab,and the cafe is o/k too.

Helpful?
Thank philcollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manchester Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Manchester Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing