We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Manchester, and I have to say I think this is one of the best. The welcome to the hotel was really friendly indeed - the guy at check in couldn't have been more helpful. My room was very comfortable and was well insulated against the noise of Canal Street (and the celebrating Man City supporters!). Dinner at the restaurant was reasonably priced with efficient service and a good food and wine selection. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a central location for work or play (or both!).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,405 - 1,409 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

I booked this hotel on the strength of both previous reviews and the hotel's location, just 10 minutes walk from the Palace theatre where we were to see Phantom of the Opera. I also thought the room rates were perfectly reasonable for the style of hotel.

The room was very spacious and comfortable and had all the nice touches mentioned in previous reviews, so I won't repeat! To me, it seems that the hotel was created, furnished and decorated by experienced travellers rather than classroom architects because I can't think of anything missed from the list of room facilities.

Excellent service was provided on our arrival with fresh milk for tea/coffee, ice cubes - with a small jar of sliced lemon - for something stronger. The turn down service took place whilst we were out, with the milk, ice & lemon stored in the minibar for our return.

We explained we were due at the theatre and were ably and professionally assisted by the receptionist with a map and suggestions of where to dine. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but did have a couple of drinks in the hotel bar after the show and received great service. Nothing too much trouble.

I have to mention just one downside with our particular room (no. 31) that might affect fellow travellers and that relates to the closure of the curtains. This room is on the 3rd floor and has unusual windows that require Roman blinds, which, although very attractive, don't fully close to blank out daylight in the morning. Consequently I was awake from 5 a.m. and unable to get back to sleep. I don't have a helpful solution for the owners, but would avoid this room myself when (not if!) we come to stay here in Manchester again.

Well done to the owners on creating a lovely, quirky, chic boutique hotel that's completely unlike any branded chain of hotels. Well done to the staff by supporting this by delivering courteous professional service.

Room Tip: avoid room 31 if you're a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We can across this hotel by chance and its the best boutique hotel we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail is second to none, from the minute you arrive you are made so welcome, nothing is too much trouble, sweeties on reception desk, the little yellow duckie (which we will take on our travels for the facebook piccies), fresh milk in your room, cookies, ice. Even though we were unsure what to expect as we had booked a room which said noise could be heard as it was above the bar, we must say that we heard nothing and it certainly did not spoil our stay. I cannot say enough on how impressed we were with this hotel, the breakfast selection was excellent, freshly cooked to order. We had cocktails in the bar before we went into town, the bar staff were helpful as the choice was immense. The room, a picture postcard, the bathroom amazed me with the lights coming on automatically as you entered. Bathrobes, slippers and soft towels. A comfortable bed, iron and ironing board, trouser press, the choice on the mini bar included sweets, oreo's, kettle crisps. Discounted car park if you park in Chorlton Street NCP, which is 2 min walk to hotel. I really cannot say enough, I understand after staying why this is number on trip advisor. I am already booking to go again and will not stay anywhere else when in Manchester. Thank you Velvet Hotel for making our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Well, this weekend was booked for my other half's Birthday. The hotel is lovely, we spent two nights here. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave nothing seems to be too much for the friendly staff! We parked in the NCP car park on Chorlton St, which is 2 streets away from Canal St. If you park here it's normally £19 per 24 hrs with the hotels discount it's £13.00 per 24 hrs. Park up, get your ticket and upon checkout the hotel swipe your card and the discount is applied!
The small touches make this hotel stand out from the rest, from the free Wi-Fi to fresh coffee upon arrival and complimentary fizz (if you have the clubbers package)! Once we had finished with our tray with coffee and cookies I was heading over to reception to give them the tray before we popped out. While we were out we were left with fresh milk which was placed back in the fridge so that we could have a coffee on our return. It's the little things, the ice was replaced daily and so were the biscuits, organic toiletries, bath robes, slippers - the list goes on. Our room was lovely, decorated in my favourite colour, purple :)

We had a meal in the restaurant on the Friday night, book before 7pm and you can get the meal deal. The food was amazing we had a fillet stake which was cooked to perfection and homemade chips. We had room service on the Saturday night, just too tired to go down to eat. Arrived within 15 minutes :) amazing service, can't fault it!

Breakfast was included in our package, continental all you could eat and you can also have the works too which you have a choice from sausage, eggs - however you would like etc etc.

Overall this hotel is brilliant, it's in the heart of everything, we shopped 'til we dropped on the Saturday and it's lovely coming back to a beautiful room where you know you can relax and chill out!

We wouldn't stay anywhere else - Thank you!

Room Tip: It all depends what you want I guess - Our room (15) over looked the canal, we really liked the posi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leedslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is an absolute gem! Reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, with coffee and cookies brought to the room. All the rooms are individually decorated and furnished and the one we had was beautiful and very gothic in style. Food in the restaurant was great and the bar had a lovely ambience (not to mention the impressive range of vodkas and great cocktails sampled during Happy Hours). Location is good for shops and nightlife. Having experienced this hotel, I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Manchester.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,380 reviews
0.6 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,369 reviews
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
1.2 km away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 8,333 - ₹ 24,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing