We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bar, terrible food.”

20 Stories Restaurant
Ranked #321 of 2,562 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 52
Description: 20 Stories is an iconic restaurant in the heart of Spinningfields which sits at the forefront of the Manchester dining scene with Modern British menus created by Aiden Byrne. From lunch to post dinner drinks, afternoon tea to dinner, with live music, a rooftop garden with trees scaling two storeys high and unparalleled views of Manchester, it embodies the electricity of an international restaurant against the backdrop of this dynamic city, complete with its own celebrated story. The contemporary and glamorous venue will be at the hub of Manchester’s social scene and feature a high end Restaurant and more relaxed Grill serving modern-British menus overseen by renowned Chef Director Aiden Byrne, who brings a wealth of knowledge and experience having worked at a number of Michelin-starred restaurants. The venue will also boast a stylish bar and alluring outdoor terrace that sits under a canopy of beautiful trees and dramatic lighting.
Restaurant details
Description: 20 Stories is an iconic restaurant in the heart of Spinningfields which sits at the forefront of the Manchester dining scene with Modern British menus created by Aiden Byrne. From lunch to post dinner drinks, afternoon tea to dinner, with live music, a rooftop garden with trees scaling two storeys high and unparalleled views of Manchester, it embodies the electricity of an international restaurant against the backdrop of this dynamic city, complete with its own celebrated story. The contemporary and glamorous venue will be at the hub of Manchester’s social scene and feature a high end Restaurant and more relaxed Grill serving modern-British menus overseen by renowned Chef Director Aiden Byrne, who brings a wealth of knowledge and experience having worked at a number of Michelin-starred restaurants. The venue will also boast a stylish bar and alluring outdoor terrace that sits under a canopy of beautiful trees and dramatic lighting.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I've been to the bar a few times and it's fab - great place for a drink, with lots of atmosphere.

I ate at the grill part of the restaurant and I have to say it really wasn't anything to write home about. I ordered the crab thermidore for starter which wasn't hot enough when it arrived. I then had the sirloin steak which was burnt. I had ordered the macaroni cheese to accompany it which was glued to the pan it came in and basically inedible. They whack on a 12.5% service charge which I found ridiculous. I did complain and they removed one of the two steaks off the menu (both were burnt), they also did not charge us for the macaroni cheese we had ordered.

To further add to the poor food, my boyfriend went outside of the building to take a call towards the end of the meal and wasn't allowed back into the building!! So here's me sitting finishing our wine because he's not allowed back in the restaurant as there's "too many people upstairs". I did email to complain about this, but to no surprise no one got back to me.

Don't waste your money - much nicer food elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Het712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at 20 Stories Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Good Morning,
Thank you for taking the time to review 20 Stories. We're pleased to hear your positive feedback on the bar.
We are sorry to hear of the experience you had with your meals and with your partners re entry to the building.
We would appreciate if you could send your email to our General Manager Kim on kimst@danddlondon.com and he will get back to you.
Best Wishes,
Kim and the 20 Stories team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 599 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I’ve read a few reviews about not being let into the bar area of 20 Stories and to be honest when the four of us turned up there was a mini-queue and some conversations between the doorman and some guests. For us however we said we had a reservation and were let in, to be greeted at a hotel-type reception where 2 hosts pointed us to the lifts. The view from the restaurant was of the city!

When we arrived at the restaurant check-in desk, the host couldn’t find our reservation, although the day before we had received a call confirming “the” reservation. The host was pleasant enough and luckily there was a space and we were guided to our table.

The place has a nice buzz about it, but the volume can increase at times, and people seemed to be on the move constantly. There were a lot of staff on so I guess they’re going through the training process as some staff weren’t as proficient as some. Our table staff were very good, one waiter certainly knew her dishes and the sommelier was excellent.

We ordered water and wine (the wine is pretty expensive and can add to your bill).

We chose the Rioja Bic Barrica Canas (£42) and the Zinfandel Burlesque (one of the cheapest on the menu at £29 but delicious). The bread came but to be honest was nothing special, I’m sure better bread (and a choice) could be provided.

For starters we chose the Beetroot & Black Fig Salad (“a bit more fig required”), Leek & Truffle Salad with Confit Egg Yolk (“lovely”), Pigeon Breast with Black Pudding Puree “”very nice and pink”)and the Onion & Parmesan Soup (“pretty tasty”).
For mains, two shared the Chateaubriand with thrice-cooked chips(!) bone marrow sauce & bernaise (“very tender steak and good chips”) wild Turbot peas morells & cepes (“excellent”) and poached John Dory lobster chicken and white asparagus, apparently this is their take on Surf ‘n’ Turf (I’m afraid that the fish was undercooked and the initial waiter seemed to disagree, however it was sent back to the kitchen and accepted that it was undercooked and a fresh plate was brought to the table and was very good).

You do need to order sides with the mains.

We’re generally not “pudding” people but we all ordered something; 2 Chocolate Fondant (“excellent/wonderful”), chocolate praline (“yum”) and meringue ricotta (“good but not outstanding”). The cheese board looked imposing but had been near our table for most of the evening, again lots of people passing by.

One criticism of the service was the fact that the plates are brought out from the kitchen then put on the side until waiting staff are ready to serve at table, we noticed that some food was there for maybe 2 minutes (with people constantly walking past it).

Without asking, the under cooked John Dory dish was taken off the bill.

There is a 12.5% service charge added to your bill so remember that as well, although the bill says this is optional.

Be careful; it turns out if you book via the website (which takes you to Opentable), it seems that a bug in the software can book you at a “sister” restaurant and “the” reservation we had was at another D and D restaurant in Leeds!

Generally a positive experience; with tinkering required around some of the processes and once all of the staff are fully trained up there should be no issues with service and menu knowledge.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at 20 Stories Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Andrew,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on 20 Stories. We're so pleased to hear all of your positive feedback on the venue and your dining experience.
We have taken your feedback on board regarding the process with waiting staff and will use this going forward to train our staff to provide the best service at all times.
We do hope to see you back again soon so you can see our improvements and you can enjoy some more wine, hopefully with some sunshine on the terrace.
Best Wishes,
Kim and the 20 Stories team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I wanted to visit 20 Stories to treat my mum, my mum is scared of heights so Amy kindly showed us around prior to us making a booking! She took her time to make my mum feel comfortable whilst providing all the information/facts about the new venue!

I can’t wait to take my mum and hopefully be able to buy Amy a drink for being so kind!

Thank Cruiser765166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at 20 Stories Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review 20 Stories. We're so pleased to hear we could help and we'll be sure to pass your feedback on.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes,
Kim and the 20 Stories team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The location is fantastic with beautiful views on all sides, but it is the excellent service that I'll remember most fondly. This is more than just a 'bucket-list' venue. Its a wonderful addition to the Manchester food scene and I can't wait for a reason to go back.

Thank OnTheBackFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at 20 Stories Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on 20 Stories. We're so pleased to hear your kind words, and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
Kim and the 20 Stories team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This was our first visit to 20 Stories- we were keen to see what this new addition to Manchester's growing foodie scene was like. We were met with smiles and welcoming service. The food ranges in price to be inclusive in terms of attracting the middle income to the wealthy pocket. The starters have a fine dining style as do some of the mains. However, we went for the fish pie and the cod cheek and triple cooked chips. Both were very good, hearty and left no room for the dessert. Next time we'll try a main and a dessert. Magda was very helpful, friendly and well informed, making our evening relaxing while looking at the great views of Manchester. The bread board comes with 'Born and Bread' written on it with beautiful sour dough and freshly churned butter- we were asked if we wanted more which was nice- 2 more slices and we were happy and sated. As I am proud to be born and bred in Manchester, this is a good reflection of the hospitality and high standards that this city has to offer.

Thank lubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at 20 Stories Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of 20 Stories. We're very pleased to hear your positive feedback on your whole experience, and we will ensure your kind words are passed on to Magda.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
Kim and the 20 Stories team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 20 Stories Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 20 Stories Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing