We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for visiting Doncaster” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for visiting Doncaster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I went to Doncaster with family and friends to go to the Races and we had a fantastic time. Doncaster people are friendly and helpful and it is a great place to shop too!

Our Hotel was an excellent example of Holiday Inn Express! Staff were friendly and efficient; the Hotel is spotlessly clean and Public areas are modern, tidy and welcomig.

The rooms are clean, light and comfortable; the bathroom has a large shower but no bath and everything is beautifully clean. Toiletries are adequate but limited to quality wall dispensers so, if you are fussy, take your own. The beds are very comfy but It would be nice to have two chairs in the room for our extra comfort and convenience.

Breakfast is very much self-service and basic but there is some choice, including hot food and you can have as much or as little as you like; many Budget Hotels do not offer breakfast but charge comparable room rates so I feel Holiday Inn is great value. The free coffee machine is available every day until eleven am.

The hotel is conveniently close to the town centre, There are road improvements nearby just now but they cause relatively little inconvenience or noise!

We have booked to stay there again for the St Leger in September and are looking forward to another friendly welcome on our return.

Great Value and highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: If you do not smoke, book a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise1970, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
We are pleased to hear you had a great stay at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, thank you for such a positive comment. Your comments regarding housekeeping will certainly be passed on to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back for St Leger.

Kind Regards

Elena Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    138
    67
    10
    10
See reviews for
69
131
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have just stayed here for one night while in Doncaster for a wedding. My husband got a great deal through lastminute.com at £35.68!

We didn't book in until we came back from the wedding reception and thought we may be in for a noisy night as it was full with it being Doncaster races, how wrong could we be?

The room was lovely and clean and had beautiful crisp bed linen and towels. With us going back for the evening reception I didn't want to was my hair and my husband came back from reception with the shower cap I asked for. I know lots of hotels leave these anyway, but there was a list up stating if there was anything else you needed just to ask, The spotless bathroom has fixed bottles of shampoo/showergel for use and were much nicer than the tiny bottles normally left which tend to be on the cheap side.

As with most rooms they only leave a small amount of complimentary tea and coffee but extras were also given to us when we asked for more.

The king size bed was lovely with a mix of both soft and firm pillows for us to select from. Despite our misgivings about noise we both slept soundly.

The breakfast which was included in the price was lovely and the choice was excellent. We came away full and happy.

We found the staff on reception to be very pleasant and helpful.

If and when we return to Doncaster we would be very happy to stay here again as we were delighted with all it had to offer.

Many thanks to your staff, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30 on the ground floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenR098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise1970, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank You for taking your time to leave such a detailed positive comment. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Elena Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We paid £35 approx for a one night stay. the room was sparkling comfy and really good value for money. The staff were excellent from reception to bar and breakfast area also cleaning staff so friendly.I had reservtions at first as it was hard for my daughter to locate for us and she lives in Doncaster. There is confusion over the post codes - relatively new build etc . However we got there and the room was lovely, we specifically asked for a quiet room as some reviews said itcould be noisy! We never heard a thing but I do think the hotel was pretty quiet on our stay.The comlimentary breakfast had a large selection of yogurts, fruit, pastries . Also cereal toast to cook yourself - beans scrambled egg and sausage -j also juice and a variety of teas and coffee. It was good and plenty if you wished for it. all self service. i thought it was excellent. I have stayed in another one of there hotels in Cambridge and it was not as good. They have a lovely reception / bar area and it had comfy chairs and settee 's. It was excelent for the price considering the Premer Inn was going to be £75 plus parking!!
They have a large free carpark and it was £5 to town in a taxi about £6.50 in a black cab later on that night. so still good value. i would not walk into town it was too far. There is an outlet shoping area about 500 yds driving - which looked good called Lakeside. If we come again to Doncaster we would definitly stay again. the cost location and quality of the rooms were excellent. Lovely shower seperate toilet gorgeous soft towels lovely toiletries - clean although soft bed - lovely fresh furnishings were superb.
Slight criticsm the air con in the room did not work and when I rang reception to query it in case I was using it wrongly she suggested opening the window Ha Ha

They do serve meals but we used the pub opposite and that was good too.

Very nice visit....

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room - ours was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise1970, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank You for such a positive comment. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. You will be pleased to hear we now have a postal code which will bring you to the Hotel.
I will certainly pass the kind comments onto the staff.

Kind Regards

Elena Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Managed to get a room for £43 including breakfast using o2 priority moments! Great hotel very fresh clean and new. Breakfast is o.k however there is no bacon which was very disappointing. In addition ordered a glass of wine for £3.50 paid £5 and when I complained was told that they didn't have any of the wine on the menu and sold me a more expensive brand. They also advertise 125ml glass on the wine list and have no 125ml glass so be aware of this when you ask for a small white wine ;/ On the whole though great place and a great price would def stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Use your apps peoples saved over 50% on my booking with o2 priority moments app
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

A wonderful weekend stay at this impeccable hotel.Easy to get to off Junction 3 on M18,roadworks make it a bit confusing to choose correct exit off roundabot to Hotel,but not a hindrence.Car parking excellent,well marked out,reception are bright and clean.Reception staff very -pleasant and made you so welcome on arriving,check in was fast and no hassle,directions given to get to room,meal times explained and location of areas described.Rooms were fantastic,clean and smelt fresh,everything in plentiful supply for toiletries,and lovely large towels.
Lighting effects in room were first class,AND,all the lights worked,even in the hotel areas.
We had our evening meal in the hotel with drinks,although drinks a little pricey,having not to wander and find an eatery or a drink,was itself delightful.The food was excellent,the drinks very good,the service given by the 2 staff,who had to look after reception,the bar,cook the meals etc etc,was more than first class and every attention was given to ensure everybody was ok.As the hotel at one point was buzzinG with check ins etc,this couple took it all in their stride ans were always cheerful.aT 10.45PM they were still working,and at 8.30am when we went for breakfast,here is that couple again just as cheerful,doing checkouts and breakfasts,full marks to Holiday Inns for recruiting this kind of personnell,They are a great asset to your company,it is because of them that people like myself will rebook with Holiday Inns,make sure you look after them!!!
All in all,Our party of 3 people cannot speak to highly of them,First Class all round.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on 2nd floor,one was directly opposite the lift door,and was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieW299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise1970, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for leaving such positive feedback. It's always nice to pass the comments on to the staff. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Elena Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
2.8 km away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
2.4 km away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Property: Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 5JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,676 - ₹ 7,188
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing