We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Party Venue !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand St Leger Hotel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Party Venue !”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My new husband and I have just had our wedding party at the Grand St Leger on Sat 28th Jan 2012 and it was fantastic.

All of the staff were great, especially Paula who was a great help planning our wedding party and also helped us on the night, making sure we didn't have to worry about anything. Everything ran smoothly and we've had some excellent comments and feedback from our guests.

One of the best parts of having the party here was there was 3 rooms, one with the disco & a bar, one with the buffet and then another bar area. That meant there was plenty of room for everyone and some of the older relatives had a chance to be in a quieter room rather than just the room with the disco.

All in all a fab night, highly recommended hotel and wedding venue with great central location too!

Thanks to everyone (especially Paula) for making our wedding party a fantastic night.

Al & Mike

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdl501, Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Al & Mike,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and congraulate you again on behalf of us all at the Grand St Leger Hotel.

I am of course deilighted that you had such a fantastic time at the hotel and I have passed your comments on to all the staff involved on the day, including Paula who was particularly pleased to hear your comments.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the futture.

Kind Regards


Mark Lawton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    74
    44
    22
    14
See reviews for
25
97
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed for just one night in a Duluxe room. Bed to die for & all in all a very nice clean room with a 42" plasma, great bathroom but not quite worth £64.
Breakfast was good & all the staff were very pleaseant.
One bad point, the floor boards above our room was very noisey when people were walking around. The person above us was walking about at 05.30hrs so that woke us up, bad stain on one off the chairs which should of been cleaned but would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Grand St Legder this weekend while visiting Doncaster races where our horse was running. What can I say the hotel was really really great. Just across the road from the racecourse. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean not the biggest but it was only for sleeping in anyway.
We had a great evening meal and then as it was bonfire night the staff treated us to a firework display!! All of the staff were fantastic (special mention for Pete who was on the bar later on) we were looked after from the moment we arrived, treated as old friends rather than guests.
I would highly recommend this hotel, for location and the really great and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdl501, Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was of course delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the firework display that we put on.

I have passed on your comments to Pete who served you behind the bar and to Lynn who invited you to watch the fireworks with us.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel at some point in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stay here regular with my work and have found the place to be spot on for our needs. The twin rooms are small,compact and comfortable.Room's are spotless,bed's comfortable and staff very helpful.
If you are a light sleeper I would not recommend the rooms at the front as the Hotel is on a busy roundabout and traffic thunders round it all night and day.
The toilet's does not have any of the infamous 'mouldy shower sealant' people love to mention and are spotless as well.
Breakfast to me is good and for a total price of £50 is good value. If you want your food cooked a certain way tell them !!! Not write about it afterwards on this site cause it was not good enough for you.
Complaints ? Resteraunt to expensive went to a pub half mile along the road.
Will continue to return.

Room Tip: Light sleeper ? Ask for room at the back of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdl501, Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

I am of course pleased that you have been happy with your stays at the Grand St Leger Hotel and have passed on your comments to the teams working in the kitchen and in housekeeping regarding breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Travelled to Doncaster with my elderly mother for a two night stay as we were attending a wedding. Horrified to find that we were roomed on the second floor and there was no lift. Mum struggled with the stairs but reception were unable to move us because of a party that night. The room itself (203) could only be described as 'scuzzy' and we were really disappointed. We went into town the following morning and- joyous news on our return- staff had moved us to the floor below. What a difference! Decor, cleanliness and furnishings were so much better. The second night was therefore a big improvement. Breakfast was poor though. Undercooked eggs, raw tomatoes and raw mushrooms in the mixed grill and insipid tea. The only good thing about our stay was Amanda, the lovely receptionist, who was so kind and helpful that I have to thank her and commend her to the management.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mseducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdl501, Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Grand St. Leger,

I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and I can assure you that I take all of your points very seriously.

Unfortunately, as the hotel is a Grade II listed buiiding, we have been unable to install lifts in the hotel. I am sorry that we were unable to move you to a room on the first floor on your first night, but as you mention we were fully booked with a party and other residents had already checked into rooms on this floor.

In terms of your comments regarding room 203, I have taken on board your comments, however this room had already been included in the current phase of our refurbishment programme and is due for re-decoration and the damaged carpet you were unhappy with at the time of your stay is also due to be replaced.

I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast with our Head Chef and he has asked me to extend his sincere apologies.

Thank you for singling out Amanda for her excellent customer service, I will of course make sure she is aware of your comments.

If you would like to discuss the matter with me personally please do not hesitate to contact me directly via e-mail at mark@grandstleger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
7.2 km away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
0.6 km away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
1.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
1.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand St Leger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand St Leger Hotel

Property: Grand St Leger Hotel
Address: Racecourse Roundabout Bennetthorpe, Doncaster DN2 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,607 - ₹ 8,555
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand St Leger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is conveniently located just outside central Doncaster and provides the ideal location when visiting Doncaster whilst on business or for pleasure.Situated just across from Doncaster Racecourse, the Hotel is perfect for horseracing fans. We offer the best accommodation in Doncaster and are the perfect venue for pre or post racing drinks or meals.Each of our 20 tastefully decorated bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, heated trouser press, and LCD or Plasma televisions with over 40 channels to choose from. The Carringtons Restaurant, offers the finest food, in relaxed surroundings and is complemented by an excellent wine list.Meanwhile in the Paddock Bar the mood is more vibrant. A comfortable environment where you may enjoy meeting friends or colleagues throughout the day for coffee or bar snacks.The Sellinger Suite is available for Conferences or Functions and includes a Private Bar.After an extensive refurbishment, the hotel has been restored to a level of elegance and comfort that surpasses its former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand St Leger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand St Leger Doncaster
Grand St Leger Hotel Doncaster, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing