We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong, nothing great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong, nothing great”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Would be happy to use the hotel again, and bed and shower were better than average.

Nothing shone out to make my stay memorable, staff were polite but not particually helpful, breakfast was okay but nothing to shout about, you got a kettle in your room but no biscuits!

There is a gym/swimming pool, the pool is of a good length for the hotel though the water was very cloudy and required a good clean or replacement.

Would be happy staying again since it is in a convenient location to the M42 and has good parking, but have a lot of trouble distinguishing it from any similarly priced hotel and have often stayed in better for cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    565
    290
    142
    111
See reviews for
304
528
43
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We visited the Village hotel as we were going to the Gadget Show Live at the NEC. We’ve never stayed at a village hotel but my parents had recommended it to us as they had stayed there in the past and said it was great.

We managed to find a reasonable deal for 2 nights which included breakfast. The room was on the small side but it was of a good standard generally.

I had a few quibbles – the chair was dirty- I ended up putting a towel over it as I didn’t really want to sit on it as it was. Also the view from our window was awful – just another building up close so we just kept the blinds closed all the time. But to be honest I don’t think you would have had a good view from any room as there wasn’t much around.

The way the room was designed was very impractical. There is a stupid design of what looks like blinds between the wall of the bedroom and bathroom. This means that when someone uses the bathroom in the night or in the morning when the other person is sleeping it completely lights up the whole of the bedroom and wakes you up. There was no way of shutting these and they didn’t even look good as a room design. I actually wouldn’t stay at the hotel again because of it as it was so annoying and unfortunately I think it’s a design fault that all Village hotels have.

Breakfast was okay, general choice of cooked breakfast, however they seem to think the only cereal people want is flake based – bran flakes, corn flakes etc – very bland choices. They also didn’t have a lot of healthy choices – not much fruit etc.

The car park was pretty large and free which was a bonus and it only took around 15 minutes to get to the NEC so is quite a good base if you are visiting the NEC.

We didn’t eat at the restaurants as we thought they were quite expensive for what they were and chose to eat at Harvester and Beefeater which were very close. There was also a Toby Carvery and McDonalds close by.

Generally not a bad base for the NEC, but I won’t be staying again because of those absurd ‘blinds’

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahgosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We looked forward to revisiting the Village and it did not disappoint! Full marks from us for everything. Our room on the 4th floor was so comfortable and really quiet.
After a good night's sleep we enjoyed the breakfast. It was included in our tariff but at £4.95 for as much as you can eat it is extremely good value.
The staff we met were very competent and friendly.
We hope to stay again when we visit the Midlands.

Room Tip: We have had 4th floor rooms an they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pomsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

An excellent stay in an excellent, well-run hotel. In balancing a trip to the NEC and a shopping trip into Brum; the Village was ideal. I took some expert advice from a well-informed local, who could vouch for the quality of the rooms, the gym and especially the bar (all well researched).

The room, gym and bar were only surpassed by the quality of the buffet breakfast, even the Cumberland sausage tasted better in Shirley ;-)

I found the hotel Manager Tony Elvin particularly helpful and would recommend this hotel to all. :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawsiepoohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean and stylish ... The gym is really well equipt ... The staff were all friendly , helpful ... Easy to find and well located in close proximity to the motorway.... I really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samthomas710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
3.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
624 reviews
3.7 km away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.9 km away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#12 of 25 in Solihull
1,053 reviews
3.4 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
822 reviews
8.9 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park (Off Dog Kennel Lane), Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#8 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,137 - ₹ 11,248
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing