We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Old Black Bear Inn

Ye Old Black Bear Inn
Ranked #50 of 75 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a very authentic British pub. They have a wide selection of draft beers and ales. The food is affordable and sizeable portions. Lots of locals flock to this pub. It gave us a very real pub experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    44
    27
    14
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This pub is a favourite of mine and my partners, we have only live in Tewkesbury for a year so far and have been there a few times. I love the architecture and the food had always been great. We've tried other places in the Tewkesbury area but this one we always return to. Definately recommendable and great for those who like oldy worldy structures.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Popular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Actually went in for the football, They have 4 screens in four different rooms, the atmosphere was excellent and the regulars made you feel welcome,

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank john C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
2 reviews
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

terrible service and food straight from freezer to fryer or microwave

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved the place, great for a drink!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Lovely pub and beautiful beer garden! The only down side was the food, which wasn't terrible but wasn't good! We also received the wrong order, which wasn't difficult considering it was 2 chicken ceaser salads n a bowl of chips. That being said sitting in the beer garden was beautiful and the atmosphere was fantastic!
All in all a lovely place, I would highly recommend, just eat before you go!
Thank you xXx

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelLyndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Old Black Bear Inn also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Ye Old Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing