We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Experience”
Review of Willen Lake

Willen Lake
Ranked #11 of 53 Fun & Games in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Willen Lake is Milton Keynes’ most popular park. Over one million visitors a year take part in watersports activities, go cycling, enjoy the playground, try the high ropes course or simply picnic along Willen’s shores. It’s a great place to entertain all ages of family and friends, whether it’s a visit to the café or restaurant, a stroll, trying a beginners’ course in sailing or hiring a pedalo or bike. The park is open year round and there is no admission fee, other than during special events when some areas may be unavailable to the general public, or a fee may be charged. (Note that car parking charges apply.) Leisure activities at Willen Lake are managed by Whitecap Leisure Ltd, a trading subsidiary of The Parks Trust.
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Took out 7 year old granddaughter to the treetop extreme experience - we were well looked after, safety was paramount, equipment well maintained, instructors helpful (if a little cheeky to us old'uns) We had a brilliant time.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantalJ315, Manager at Willen Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hi Jo, thank you for your 5 star review of Treetop Extreme. We are so pleased your granddaughter enjoyed her session. We will make sure your feedback is passed onto the team. We hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"peace pagoda"
in 41 reviews
"water skiing"
in 19 reviews
"stone circle"
in 11 reviews
"wake boarding"
in 13 reviews
"pub restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"round the lake"
in 14 reviews
"ice cream vans"
in 6 reviews
"mini train"
in 5 reviews
"play area"
in 27 reviews
"feed the ducks"
in 10 reviews
"nice place to walk"
in 5 reviews
"premier inn"
in 14 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 7 reviews
"lovely lake"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 5 reviews
"high ropes"
in 6 reviews
"car parking"
in 9 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

We visited Willen Lakeside Park with our daughter and her family including our 5 year old gandaughter and 2 year old grandson.
The park would appear to have activities for a wide range of ages an interests. Being with the grandchildren, we spent our time at a little fairground. There wasn't much there but the children enjoyed it.
Next we went to a play area which was ideal for both of them, ideal for youngish children.
We finished up at the splash park which was superb. A very wide range of play areas and despite it being a coolish mid-September day, the children didn't want to leave it.
All in all, the park was well worthy a visit.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 92BruceC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantalJ315, Manager at Willen Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for your review of Willen Lake. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with your grandchildren and that they enjoyed using the play park, fairground and Splash 'n' Play. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

A beautiful lake where you can either relax or go hard. There is so much to do for all ages. Would recommend.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Deaquon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantalJ315, Manager at Willen Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review of Willen Lake, we are so pleased you enjoy visiting. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

I hope I am helping you make better choices for your dream trip, to this lake, in Willen.
I mean, it does what it says on the tin; It's a lake, in Willen. There's water and something for it to all stay in. There are also lots of paths around it, to allow one to walk around it. What there isn't is enough dog waste bins. Make sure your dog goes immediately after you park your car, or you will be carrying your bagged up, steaming, stinking dog's egg for three miles as you loop the lake with man's best friend.
More bins please Parks Trust

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank the_man_of_lard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantalJ315, Manager at Willen Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your review of Willen Lake. To clarify on your point regarding dog waste, we accept dog waste in all of our bins at Willen Lake and we have 50 of these available around the Lake. Sorry this wasn't clearly when you visited but I hope it helps for any future visits? Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

It’s great place close to Milton Keynes Centre. Various activities you can do such as boating , tree top adventure and few other water related. We loved few hours we spent here. Parking is paid but not too expensive. We will definitely come back on our next visit MK.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ManinderS356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantalJ315, Manager at Willen Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Maninder, thanks for your 5 star review of Willen Lake, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willen Lake also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Swanbourne, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Willen Lake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing