We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family - something for everyone”
Review of Willen Lake

Willen Lake
Ranked #11 of 53 Fun & Games in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Willen Lake is Milton Keynes’ most popular park. Over one million visitors a year take part in watersports activities, go cycling, enjoy the playground, try the high ropes course or simply picnic along Willen’s shores. It’s a great place to entertain all ages of family and friends, whether it’s a visit to the café or restaurant, a stroll, trying a beginners’ course in sailing or hiring a pedalo or bike. The park is open year round and there is no admission fee, other than during special events when some areas may be unavailable to the general public, or a fee may be charged. (Note that car parking charges apply.) Leisure activities at Willen Lake are managed by Whitecap Leisure Ltd, a trading subsidiary of The Parks Trust.
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We went there with the whole family (3 generations). It's a lovely setting and you can walk miles if you want to. Watch out for duck pooh round the lake - my grandchildren seemed to always manage to step in it! There are plenty of things to do (depending on your budget (aerial experience, train, boats etc) or you can just let the kids loose to charge around. The Lakeside restaurant is cheap (usually some deals going in) but don't expect cordon bleu cooking. Don't get me wrong - it's perfectly adequate, but it does get busy and you might have to wait a bit.
Recommended for a family day out in the sunshine.

Date of experience: May 2011
4  Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"peace pagoda"
in 41 reviews
"water skiing"
in 19 reviews
"stone circle"
in 11 reviews
"wake boarding"
in 13 reviews
"pub restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"round the lake"
in 14 reviews
"ice cream vans"
in 6 reviews
"mini train"
in 5 reviews
"play area"
in 27 reviews
"feed the ducks"
in 10 reviews
"nice place to walk"
in 5 reviews
"premier inn"
in 14 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 7 reviews
"lovely lake"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 5 reviews
"high ropes"
in 6 reviews
"car parking"
in 9 reviews
Filter

457 - 461 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a nice afternoon at the lake today, car parking cost £2.20 for 4 hours and we walked round the South Lake, which was very pleasant.

We made the mistake of eating in the Lakeside pub/restaurant. Every time we went to order food or drinks, there was a queue of between 5-10 minutes just to be served. The food was average value, they offer a "2 for £10" deal, but got the main course order wrong. We were kept waiting over 45 mins for 5 desserts, which only appeared after queueing again and asking for them at the bar, I think we'd been forgotten. Only 4 appeared, we had to prompt again for the 5th.

Despite the "2 for "£10" deal on main courses, the drinks (no real ale by the way) and desserts put the overall price up so we spent around £12 per head (4 adults and 1 child) on a main course, drink and dessert each.

Date of experience: August 2011
2  Thank MalcOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

we went to Willen over the easter holidays and so did the rest of milton keynes so it was way too busy, a bit dirty and the lake had a distinct whiff. We werent that impressed with the prices at the aerial climbing thing. £25 for a 14 year old seemed steep to us. Then the kids spotted the speedboat and for £5 they had ten minutes zipping about feeling like James Bond. They really loved it and that alone seemed to make it worth it. In the distance we could see the waterski facility which seemed to be some sort of dragging machinery and that looked good too. We didnt get as far as the eco lake but the activity lake is probably fine outside of a hot bank holiday weekend.

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank jwillia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Restaurant situated on willen lake which is a 2 for£10 is great, excellent lunch club where u can get a meal, dessert and soft drink all for just £5 , good deals here

2  Thank Cattwizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We frequently go to Willian Lake. Parking costs £2 for 4 hours. We sometimes take our bikes or a football. Places to picnic if the pub and cafe doesn't tempt us and it has a fantastic couple of parks which keeps the children happy for hours. The little railway is running during school holidays and is a treat for the younger ones (although brief). There are safe feeding stations around the lake for children to safely feed the ducks and swans. There is ususally a noisy set of bouncy castle things in the mini bowl which charge the earth for 5 minutes of bouncing whilst a sound system blasts your ear drums to pieces - we usually avoid that. Willian Lake is a fantastc way of enjoying a lovely day out and can be done cheaply. It is usually quite windy at the lake so take a cardy.

1  Thank Kazz-bar4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willen Lake also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Swanbourne, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Willen Lake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing