We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Rooms are nice, shower was brilliant. The lady at reception who served us was really friendly, polite and nice.

The pool and steam room are ok but the changing rooms are digusting and smell like wee. Sauna is not too great either. I think it is because the gym is used by non hotel goers?? Either way yuck!

The restaurant was ok, big portions and nice enough food - again nothing special.

Was ok for a stop over before a flight but would not stay here again unless no other alternative.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for writing a review following your stay with us. I was really pleased to hear you found your bedroom comfortable and found our reception staff friendly and polite. I was sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience in the Health Club changing rooms. These are thoroughly cleaned daily and we usually do not receive negative feedback regarding the changing rooms. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    793
    412
    139
    84
See reviews for
284
1,011
132
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at the above hotel as part of Holiday Extras hotel and parking package (used it several times and in my opinion is simply the best).

The hotel always offers a friendly welcome and staff speak most common languages, there are superb facilities with the swimming pool, jacuzzi and newly refurbished gym and the food and breakfast in the restaurant anb bars are always top notch!

The rooms themselves are very comfortable and well equipped and I always request a quiet room on the upper floors away from the lifts, they always oblige and I always have a really good night sleep.

If you do want to go out Crawley town centre is a 20 min walk or £5 in the taxi and offers plenty of bars and restaurants. One of the first pubs you will arrive at is the Old Punch Bowl which has plenty of charm and character.

Once again a cracking stay at this lovely conveniant hotel, well done to all the team at Crowne Plaza - Gatwick!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTMCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and complimentary feedback about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and made use of all the facilities the hotel has to offer.

We do have some very good packages which offer great value to our guests, I am so pleased that you have used the Park and Fly several times and I hope you will continue to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I had a recent stay at this hotel and am sad to report that I was the victim of one of the more shameless displays of profiteering that I have witnessed.

The morning after my nightstop I suffered a key malfunction in my car that rendered me unable to drive out of the hotel. Initial calls to the dealers suggested 3 days to have a new key arranged. Reception were contacted and they assured that the car was fine to remain on site and that they'd noted the reg and would ensure it wasn't clamped or subject to huge bills.

Unfortunately 2 days after my car was released from the car park I noted, from a bank statement that a charge of £60 had been debited from my account by the hotel, all without any consultation or authorisation.

Subsequent calls to the hotel confirmed that they had, as a matter of policy charged me the full rate for parking on site for this period irrespective of the facts outlined above. Eventually this was halved but the shameless chase for profit suggests a hotel which places the demands of the accounts sheet above the need for honest customer service.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ADW1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you felt that the
car park charge was unreasonable. We do offer secure parking facilities at the hotel and the tariff per day is clearly displayed as you enter the barrier . We only have a limited number of spaces and that is why we have to operate a barrier system.

I am sorry that your car developed a problem it was very unfortunate for you , but the hotel only charged the daily rate for car parking for the amount of days the car remained in the car park. These charges were not hidden or additional ,but the normal car parking charges for any guest leaving a car at the hotel.. Our charges are per day and are in line with other facilities in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We held our company “After Xmas” party at the Crowne Plaza this January. We started making the initial arrangements in Sept/Oct and Paula and her team went out of their way to accommodate our needs. They were happy to show us round on several occasions for us to view the venue and also plan for our decorations.

Unfortunately we were unable to meet the numbers that we had initially hope for, but the hotel were very understandable and offered to move us to a more suitable suite, however after a last minute hard sell we managed to increase the numbers and they agreed the Arundel Suite would probably best for the numbers we had.

This room was very spacious and the lighting really added to the ambience of the room. Although we only had 85+people the room did not feel too large and the tables were arranged well around the dance floor.
The DJ was exceptional, and having requested a large number of songs in advanced for our Hollywood themed evening, he managed to find them all and helped make the evening a great success.

Paula was on hand along with operational manager to aid with the organisation of the suite throughout the afternoon of the party. This could have been a lot more stressful without them! When we returned in the morning to clear the decorations (of which there were many), they had all been cleared which was a welcome surprise!

Feedback from the attendees was very positive, although some had concerns about the prices of drinks which seemed to vary throughout the night. I think perhaps it would beneficial to display a price list so this would not be an issue in the future. There was also an issue with the menu choices, however this was just a misprint and was quickly resolved.
Within the price of the meal, we had agreed to half a bottle of wine person and this was distributed via the waiter until all bottles had been finished. There was some feedback that suggested they would have preferred the wine on the tables as they were unaware the wine was still available, however it was a nice touch to have the waiter service.

As the organiser, I was offered a complimentary room which was a lovely touch and also made it less stressful when having to get ready for the party. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated and the buffet breakfast in the morning was lovely.

The Crowne Plaza was a great venue and we would definitely consider it again next year. Paula and her team were amazing and really went out of the way to help the night go the way we wanted it.

Thank you

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to receive your feedback and it’s great to hear how well your party went. Thank you for mentioning Paula and the team, they will be really pleased to receive your comments as it rewards them for their hard work they put in ensuring everything goes smoothly on the day. We hope to welcome you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have stayed several one night stopovers here on our way back home to Spain from the UK. We have always found the staff and hotel to of a very good standard with quick efficient check in and out. The restaurant serves very good food and wine but not at crazy prices and our room (upgrade) was a club room and veryu comfortable. One thing about these hotels world wide is the quality of the bed and the pillows - always the same standard so a good nigts sleep is assured.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevi1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We were delighted to receive your feedback and it’s great to hear how highly you regard our hotel. I was also pleased to hear you found our beds comfortable and enjoyed your Club room upgrade. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
4.1 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.6 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.5 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
4.2 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
4.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,291 - ₹ 10,335
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing