We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE BE AWARE: Walkway from Sofitel to North Terminal is Closed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Anyone staying at the Sofitel and relying on using the covered walkway from the hotel to the North Terminal needs to be aware that the walkway is closed whilst the building works at the terminal are ongoing. The hotel's website does not mention that the walkway is not open.
To get to the North Terminal you need to take the lift from the Podium (Reception) floor of the hotel (the lifts are inside the beginning of the walkway, on the left hand side) down to the ground floor (carpark) and then cross the road from the carpark to the terminal. It doesn't take long to get to the terminal - around 5 mins or so - and you are under cover except when crossing the road. Of course, it is not as convenient as using the walkway but not as bad as it sounds!

This was our second stay at the Sofitel and, once again, we were pleased we chose to stay here rather than at the Hilton (which I find expensive and rather gloomy). We got a good deal on room + parking which was great - very convenient parking right next to the hotel, 2 mins walk away. Our room was very comfortable (love that bed!) and quiet. Yes, drinks and food are expensive, as you would expect, but it's so nice to be able to get your holiday off to relaxing start. The hotel was very busy the night we stayed (18 Sept) but check in was quick. We had to wait around 20 mins for a table at Le Cafe but we waited in the bar (no problem with service) and the restaurant manager came to get us when our table was ready. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orkneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Orkneyfan,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,806 - 7,810 of 8,367 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

Double room booked in advance was very reasonable for the standard.
Easily accessible from airport and train station
Very clean, nice sized room, comfy bed
TV, kettle, fridge,hairdryer etc
Nice supply of shampoo, shower gel, nail files etc.
Well sound proofed despite proximity to airport
Would definately use again for any trip into london

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluetufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Bluetufty,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years when I have had a flight to catch the next morning. It has never disappointed & is always extremely comfortable & clean. One thing that I always notice is how quiet it is in your room. Of course, being located at the airport it needs to be well soundproofed, but even taking that into account, it is still exceptional quiet. Also, the staff are always friendly, professional & efficient. I've never had any issues with this hotel & would strongly recommend it to anybody who requires a Gatwick airport hotel. I certainly will continue to stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour HotCharlie,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed one night park and fly package. Excellent location, clean and comfortable bed/room - in fact I took the cover of the pillow to see what make they were !! Check in was quick when we arrived, but it was quite busy later on. The hotel was very quiet during the night.
We were flying from the north terminal so it was great to walk to terminal. We had a meal at the hotel - the food was good and about what I would expect to pay in an airport hotel. Service okay ( it was busy) drinks expensive, but again only to be expected. As others have said it is just as easy to walk to the terminal and eat there or use M & S Express for sandwiches etc.
Definately would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Tomkins,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We normally stay at the Hilton if we have an early morning flight but as we were flying for the North Terminal thought we would try the Sofitel. I think this hotel is much better and cheaper. The check in was a bit lengthy as there are not so many staff in this area but to be fair I have never come across an airport hotel that doesn't have this problem. We choose a smoking room which is nice to be able to get. The room was spacious and had a comfy bed, I was pleasently suprised. The room was also quiet and we did not hear any noise during the night of fellow travellers coming and going. As with any airport hotel the drinks are expensive as is the food and not really worth the price so we normally go and have a drink/food over in the airport terminal.
All in all for a one night stay I would definately stay here again but as the monorail link is down between terminals it would depened on which one I was flying from as to which hotel I stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyson.johnson-smith_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Bonjour Alyson.johnson-smith_123,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.9 km away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
5.5 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.8 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: ₹ 8,841 - ₹ 14,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing