We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very comfortable, minor niggles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, minor niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed at the Telford Holiday Inn with my family while our son attended an event at the nearby International Centre. Great location for that and only a short walk to the town centre, such as it is. Made great use of the pool and sauna/steam rooms. Friendly staff. Comfortable large rooms, with choice of firm & soft pillows on the beds. Good buffet breakfast, but was surpised that there would be an extra charge if we wanted a cappucino & also heard that a guest would be charged extra to store an item in reception/luggage room for a while - seems petty & detracts from the overall good feeling.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattat320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Many thanks for your review and I'm pleased that you had a comfortable stay. Just to respond to a couple of your comments though: we don't make a charge to store guests' luggage in our luggage room, I do apologise if you were given that impression. With regard to the additional charge for cappuccino at breakfast time, this is because as a standard we provide freshly brewed coffee, tea or hot chocolate but if a guest orders any other beverage, this would come from our bar and would be charged accordingly.
I do hope these minor niggles will not deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    262
    126
    34
    18
See reviews for
194
150
23
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here with several friends in the last week of November 2011 for the i44 event next door. I think we took about 10 rooms between us all, for 4 nights. Rooms were pretty average, and hotel insides look about 10-15years old. Perhaps time for a refurb? Also the whole of the hotel was roasting hot most of the time.

It had the 3 main things though: quiet, decent shower, comfy bed.

Everything else doesn't really matter when you're on a drunken weekend with friends :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simoncchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Many thanks for your review - I'm pleased you and your friends had a great stay.

We do have a rolling refurbishment programme which includes bedrooms, we have just recarpeted all our bedroom corridors and are in the process of completely refurbishing our accessible public toilet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked by telephone. When I called I was given one rate, I rang back having confirmed the price was ok with another member of my group(literally 5 minutes) and was told the rate was £80 more expensive after some negotiation and speaking to a manager I go this down to £40 extra- I am told it is like booking a flight now, minutes count. Its a pity the person who quoted the price didn't mention this 5 minutes earlier. Anyway bad start but at least they did negotiate.

Check in time is 2pm on the dot.Checkout time 12noon. Don't arrive early because you will not be allowed into your room. If the whole hotel wanted to check in at 2pm what a queue that would create.

I arrived at 1pm, slightly early due to poor weather and setting off in the hope of avoiding it. Reception did offer to save my bags, but as it was snowing and I was freezing I said I would wait to get into my room. Apparently they were waiting for some late check outs! I sat opposite the desk for the whole hour. Nobody checked out- surprise! At 2pm I asked if I could check in and was allowed to.

My room (2nd floor) was modern, clean, and looked relatively newly decorated - a nice surprise. Bath and shower over the bath- both worked well. The room faced the back of the hotel and was quiet.

The leisure facilities were ok. Swimming pool 15metres ish. Gym quite small but enough for a night. Great walk just outside the hotel around a big Lake no cars - nice for a run.

Super location: ice rink, shops, international conference centre -all walking distance. Nice big car park, with spots for disabled near to the door if required.

Nice bar and food in restaurant also quite good. Service at breakfast not as good as it should be but food again quite good.

Overall relaxing trip with a nice comfortable room. I would give it 3.5 stars as its slightly above average but I wouldn't say very good- I've given it 4 because you can't give 3.5 and I got a quiet clean room which was important to me.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the back of the hotel ask for one away from the ventilation units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay and we are pleased that overall you had a relaxing trip in a comfortable, quiet and clean room. We are fortunate to be located so close to the International Centre, the shops and town park.

I'm sorry that you had some difficulties on arrival. I was pleased that the receptionist offered to store your luggage safely for you ~ the late check outs that they would have been waiting for, would not have been guests physically checking out, but a backlog of rooms to be serviced prior to the set check in time. Occasionally if a lot of guests have chosen to stay until 12 noon which they may well have done on a snowy day, it can then mean rooms needing to be cleaned in a short space of time and thus not so many rooms ready in advance of check in time. I do apologise for the disappointment caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our 2nd stay here while visiting museums in Ironbridge. I would rate it "good" but the "average" that goes with the 3 dots is a bit too harsh. Great value for a family, especially the lovely pool facilities. Rooms are clean and good sized, although we found the beds a bit too firm. Check in and out were both slow due to a busy weekend, but breakfast service was efficient and offered plenty of choices.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesstravelwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your constructive review. I'm sorry you experienced some delays at check in and check out due to the busy weekend.

We are excellently placed for getting to the wonderful museums of the Ironbridge Gorge. Don't forget its possible to get a "passport" ticket so you can come back again and again to visit sites that you missed the first time round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Arrived very late on a cold, Sunday night so no food and the bar was closed but the receptionist very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the service efficient.

However, the hotel is looking a little tired and dated and could do with a refurb. On balance I prefer the Premier Inn or Grays Inn when staying in Telford.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I was pleased that you found our receptionist welcoming and that you enjoyed breakfast. We do have some food items which are available 24 hours a day on our room service menu.

We have recently refurbished more than 20 of our bedrooms, recarpeted our corridors and some walls have been painted. Our accessible toilet is currently undergoing refurbishment too. As you might imagine, it can be like "painting the Forth Bridge" but we do have a rolling refurbishment programme in place so that we are constantly upgrading and updating our building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Telford hotels
1.2 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
1.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 km away
International Hotel Telford
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge

Property: Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge
Address: Telford International Centre St. Quentin Gate | St. Quentin Gate, Telford TF3 4EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,336 - ₹ 11,841
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge is ideally located just off the M54 and offers free parking. The hotel is adjacent to The International Centre and is only a short stroll to Telford Shopping Centre and Southwater Entertainment Quarter with IMAX Cinema, ice rink and ten pin bowling. Nearby is the wonderful Telford Town Park which offers acres of woodland walks and free fun in the many play areas, alongside high ropes, zip wire and mini golf activities. Guests can enjoy free entry to Wonderland Adventure Playground, a short walk from the hotel, and heavily discounted tickets for top Shropshire tourist attractions are available from the Hotel Reception. Ironbridge Gorge and its ten awe-inspiring museums are a short drive away. For dining, the on-site Olive Tree restaurant offers a hot breakfast buffet or continental selection. In the evening, choose from a frequently changing menu with dishes made to order using locally sourced ingredients where possible, and then settle into the Olive Branch bar for a coffee or nightcap. WIFI is available throughout. Ask about holding your function in one of our 8 meeting rooms. Relax in Revive Leisure Club: swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym or book an appointment with our beautician. Birmingham Airport is 45 miles away. Capgemini, Windsor Life, Telford Plaza and the railway station are less than 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge Hotel Telford
Telford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing