We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
35
73
81
50
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
73
81
50
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lydiard park bar meals rooms are basic bit dated buffet style parkland venue
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Driving in the surroundings are beautiful until you realise you are staying in what looks like a hideous office block.
The reception isn't manned which would be fine if there was a way to attract their attention.
All the windows throughout the hotel have thick layers of grime and bird mess on them. There are cobwebs everywhere and the dust on the stairwells is thick enough to write in.
The bed in our room wasn't even a full double and as my husband is 6''7 it led to a most uncomfortable night..the bed is pushed against the wall so there is only one bed side lamp and table. The lights in the ceiling didn't work.
In reception there is a sign that says ask for towels for swimming but when you do you get the third degree fromthe rude receptionist. The changing rooms in the swimming pool are awful. The door in the women's side doesn't shut properly ,and the water on the floor is ankle deep. The mirrors on the wall of the pool room have massive cracks in them and the ceiling tiles have seen better days. The pool has a steep slope in it with no warning and is very dangerous. The sauna floor has brown sludge next to the door.
The photos on the website are deceiving, especially the food. Unless you want something with chips, eat elsewhere!
The lady running the bar was absolutely lovely and refreshingly friendly.

Date of stay: August 2016
2  Thank RachelD2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Rachel

Thank you for your comments . The comments about the cleanliness are a bit extreme . The same member of staff was on reception and the bar. I agree the hotel is in need of a face lift and i am sure the new owners will consider that.

Thank you

Ashwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I visit my father in Swindon once a month and have tried several hotels in the area. This one is defintely the worst of them all. I agree with Tom D this place is ghastly!

My room was on the ground floor and to be fare was not too bad although the beds are very uncomfortable and small. The bathroom was a disgrace. Although it has seen better days it was clean but the shower was temperamental and the shower curtain was hanging off its hooks - unforgiveable and unnecessary giving a bad first impression.

The only good thing about the place is the location - in the beautiful Lydiard Park. Stay here at your peril!!

Room tip: Don't stay here there is nothing good about it!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment which i am sure the new owners will do and in the mean time i will ensure that the rooms are clean and tidy like you have mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings, room was clean but on the small side. Staff very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast could have been more varied. Swimming pool a good addition for families with children.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank willow103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I sent a couple of emails to the centre prior to our stay - but had no response, however they had taken most of my requests in to consideration. I was pleased that we had brought our our travel cot for my grandaughter as they hadn't confirmed they could provide one and there wasn't one in the room - there was not a lot of space for this.
It wasn't the best of places that we have stayed at - but we only needed a bed over night and a bath, which we got. The grounds looked lovely, but unfortunately we didn't have time to check these out.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Sharon

Thank you for your review, Im sorry that you didn't get a response to your e-mail which surprises me as the reception team are very efficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location wasted by the shack you get told your staying in. The images on their website and on booking sites do not show the real hotel. Very disappointed in this hotel after arriving late on a Friday night after air show. The smell of the hotel wasn't great, the bed was far from comfy, the TV in the room was about 20 years past it's time. The shower itself kept changing hot to cold every minute. You can hear people talking all over the hotel as all the rooms are jammed in. You see the disappointment on people's faces as they arrive to the hotel. The hotel was that bad it put a damper on our day of the thought of going back to it in the evening. We will not be staying again and I would advise people to stay away.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Tom

Im sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us and yes the rooms are now a little dated. We are a budget hotel and offer a good standard of room for the price we charge. Not sure what you mean about the smell.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews