We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local South Indian food - Reasonably priced”
Review of Chennai Dosa

Chennai Dosa
Ranked #43 of 484 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 13
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: South Indian food is in its own class. ChennaiDosa made an attempt to recreate the magic of South Indian cuisine in London and has been immensely successful since the opening of its first branch in Manor Park, London. In 2003, Chennaidosa opened its first restaurant in East London. Within a year we became the largest dosa maker in Europe. We brought about a radical change in the way South Indian food was defined in Europe. We have 6 restaurants in London (2 of which are pure vegetarian located in Wembley & Manor Park) and plan to open new branches in the coming months. In a short span of time ChennaiDosa has become a household name. More and more customers place their trust in ChennaiDosa everyday - and we have provided them with high quality South Indian food, quality service and the best value for money.
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Reasonably priced and good south Indian food in Swindon. They do Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Me and my family just love Chennai Dosa.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

It is a great sign when a restaurant is full at lunch time and if it is an Indian restaurant when 90% of those eating there are Indian or Bangladeshi.
I popped in for a quick light lunch and was delighted to find a wonderful buffet for under six pounds for vegetarian and I believe it was just over seven pounds for the meat dishes. You can eat as much as you like of the quality southern Indian dishes and there is always a pudding as well.
I don't think it is licensed but they have delicious fresh fruit juices, water, chai, etc available.
There is also a full menu and what I saw selected by other tables all looked top quality. This is a really good addition to the Swindon Indian restaurant scene.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesBischoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Best Indian restaurant in Swindon. Great south East Indian food. Friendly service with a homely atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank phils602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Swindon has a crap choice of restaurants. Most are Indian and serving the same food.
Dosa is refreshingly different. Authentic and very scrummy. Friendly nice staff offering good service.
Highly recommended... if you absolutely have to be in Swindon... !

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

This is one of the best places in swindon to eat authentic asian food. The chef is from a 5 star hotel and the food is very well priced. What makes this place even better is their staff who are also very authentic! :)

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Therealreview112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chennai Dosa also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Chennai Dosa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing