We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
53
48
26
20
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
48
26
20
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroasted parsnipscourse set menubit noisy at timesthree coursessunday carverydumplingsbig portionssaturday nightreal alehotel barbreakfast roompuddingbreakfast was excellentan evening meallovely roomshort stayfull english
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

value for money .you pay for what you get.room was basic.no air con .but as I said you pay for what you get.staff were friendly.breakfast was excellent.the chef was so friendly.if anyone goes to swindon book a room here

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This Carvery is up there with the best and we love the fact that you can book a table. Not always the case for a Sunday Carvery. The food is traditional and the choice of veg excellent and beautifully cooked. We really love it here and have been going whenever possible for several years. However after a previous hiccup a couple of years or so ago , a problem has re-occured. Honey is back on the parsnips ! This is NOT traditional and it kills the taste of the parsnips which are otherwise beautifully cooked. This naturally sweet veg does not need to be ruined by honey which is a sugar non of us need adding to our dinner plate. Please remove this unnecessary ‘ modern twist ‘. We shall return as soon as possible and hope not to have to avoid the roasted parsnip. Otherwise, thanks for a delicious meal, pleasant staff great ambience, comfortable chairs. Just everything - - - but !!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank KUcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Three of us ate from the fantastically priced 3 course menu for &16.95.
Red pepper soup was beautifully flavoured and came with generous bread. Beef casserole was good even if dumplings were small. Sorbets were delicious and we were thoroughly full by the end. Decent, well-priced wine list and good service.
We are in the restaurant which was comfy and quiet on a Thursday night. I suspect a bit lacking in atmosphere if you are out for enjoyment rather than business but perfect for our needs and bar seemed to serve the same food in a livelier setting.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Stayed here for one night. Although convenient for local amenities the hotel itself has issues. My room was compact to say the least, and overnight was not conducive to a good night sleep. The blinds at the window were the twist-rod type to open or close the slats. Unfortunately they did not function properly so it was not possible to block any light out from outside. added to this was a large gap under the room door which flooded the room with light from the corridor. Not a good experience and not conducive to a good nights sleep

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manchestermart49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Difficult to know where to start on this one. The bar itself is quite nice even if the staff are up their own bottoms! However, the rooms which are accessed by some steep rickety stairs take you back to the 50s. The rooms are the same, functional but very small, however the walls and ceilings are so thin that you can hear everything that people are doing all around you. I mean everything. More worryingly, their is no one present after 11.00 pm ( and no chance of a drink after normal last orders either). The only phone number is the one that rings in the bar. Lose your key or, like myself and another guest last night, need assistance, hard luck. Want to use the wi-if? Sit next to the back door. No chance ins room. Was told the building was ‘too old’ for internet .

It’s quite cheap, but you really would get more sleep in the railway station foyer for free. Keep away unless you have a masochistic streak.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Martin791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews