We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exactly as expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Clean comfortable room, friendly staff and right in the middle of Swindon near the station if that's what you want. Car parking is in a rather desolate but vast and apparently monitored area near the station and costs only £5 overnight . Not a massive selection for breakfast but adequate and freshly cooked. Only down side is a very noisy club behind the hotel but that might be why you are in Swindon anyway.

Room Tip: Try and get one at the front away from the nightclub if you want some sleep on a Saturday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear LargeleyMonk ,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am happy that you have found the staff friendly and the room clean and confortable, and that you have found our complimentary hot continental breakfast adequate and freshly cooked. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    184
    115
    49
    49
See reviews for
57
104
48
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here in Swindon as I was actually doing a SkyDive the day after in a nearby airfield. To relax, we decided to stay in a city centre hotel and have a bit of retail therapy! It is nothing to look at from the outside, but inside it is very comfortable and modern looking. It is a very clean hotel with friendly staff, especially the receptionists who were very courteous with their greeting.

The room was a nice size for us, with a comfortable bed. Also a clean and modern shower room, and TV with freeview. Breakfast was also included which was a great selection for the money. Being right in the city centre, it was great to walk straight into the shopping centre from the hotel, and also meant we could have a glass of wine or two with dinner, and didn't have to drive back!

There is no car park, but we found a long stay car park around the corner for £7.50 for 24 hours. Overall great convenient hotel, would stay here again if I ever replicate jumping out of a plane soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicktilleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Wicktilleth,

Thank you for your feedaback regarding your stay. I was very happy to hear that you have found our staff friendly and courteous, and the rooms met your cleanliness and general standards. I am also happy that you enjoyed the selction offered for breakfast, the position of the hotel and of course....a glass of wine. I have passed your feedback to the team and they wanted to also thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcome you at the hotel during your next SkyDive adventure and congratulate you for your courage (I keep postponing it for couple of years and pretend to be to be too busy for it - in reality the courage is just not there...).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We began our trip at the Holiday Inn Express in Swindon City Centre. All of the staff were so nice and helpful. The breakfast provided was fairly good as well. The only problem that I did have was that 2 of 3 outlets did not work. I advised the staff several times and I was told that they would provide an extension cord so that I could charge more than one item, but this never happened, even when I told them again. It was inconvenient, but truthfully, the staff and accomodations were fine otherwise so it wasn't a big deal. The location was ideal also. We could get anywhere by rail or bus easily. Yes there were some minor inconveniences, but overall it was a pleasant stay made so by all of the staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Desiree,

Firstly please allow me to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. I am always happy to hear when that our guests found our staff nice, pleasant and helpfull. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and location of the hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the outlets that were not working. We are very focused and passionate about the maintainance of the building, however as you can proabably imagine at times things may occur without us being aware of it. We have now attended to it and you have therefore allowed us to ensure that the next guest will not experience this inconveniece. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Pros - Great central location allowing you to eat and drink out in the centre of Swindon, all within a very short walk of the hotel.

Rooms well looked after and very clean.

The staff were exceptional, the best I have seen in a HIExp anywhere.

Free Wifi in the main lobby/bar area.

Cons - No parking and local car parks are expensive.

Food and drink is expensive and sub standard, however you can eat out easily which means this is only a minor issue.

All in all pleased with the stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Darren,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have found our staff exceptional. Needless to say that I have passed you comments to the staff and as you can probabbly imagine they were very happy to have their work and passion for great customer service acknowledged. We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were in room 219 right next to the lift.
First thing we noticed was how cold the room was, apparently they had turned off the air conditioning in all the rooms and instead had provided a useless fan heater that didn’t heat the room.
One of the bedside lights was not working, neither was the strip light on the headboard.
There was a LED light in the bathroom that could not be turned off, and the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work.
Whatever cleaning products they used in the bathroom smelled appalling and made me feel ill something I have never experienced in any other hotel.
Every time the lift stopped it sounded like someone was banging on the room wall and the noise from the people outside a nightclub was loud until well after 2am.
All in all one of the worst places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Dont have a room by the lift or facing the nightclub
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cheryl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. We are very passionate about providing the best customer experience and encourage any feedback that will help us improve the customer experience. I have passed your comments to our Maintenance Manager for investigation. Regarding the cleaning products in the rooms I can assure you that we use the best available products from one of the most reputable supplier in the country. Dear Cheryl, as I mentioned it is our aim to provide the best possible experience to all our guests and I would appreciate if contacted me directly at the hotel for a further conversation on your experience. I look forward to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#3 of 25 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 25 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#21 of 25 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,703 - ₹ 10,333
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing