We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good hotel.....not so the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Pulling into the car park the hotel looks very old and jaded. I was not expecting much better when I got in. However, check in was fast and efficient and my executive room, whilst not the biggest ever was modern, spotlessly clean and very comfortable with good furnishings. The bathroom was clean and well maintained but very small with a stupid small bath that seems to be the case in many older Holiday Inns. Dinner was a miserable affair! The chef seemed to be everywhere in the building but in the kitchen. When I checked in he was in reception, later behind the bar and spent far too much time in the restaurant during dinner. I can't help but think that if he actually spent more time in the kitchen the food could be so much better. After all, this is standard ready prepared, Holiday Inn food. He hadn't just created some culinary masterpiece and needed to parade himself about! There were complaints from many of my fellow diners in the restaurant. In the middle of dinner a coach party arrived and peace and quiet turned in to mayhem. I actually felt very sorry for the Operations Manager, who was doing a great job handling all the many complains she was getting through no fault of her own. All in all, a pleasant overnight stay but if I was to return I would avoid the food. As I am writing this in my room it's now 11.45 and I have just received a call from reception to remind me that I have to check out by 12 noon. Nothing says you have overstayed your welcome better than a phone call like that! I think I have just changed my mind about saying I would return here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 424 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Food (dinner) was of avery poor quality and hellishly expensive for extremely small portions. Certainly not imaginitive nor inspiring. At least three person (not connected) complained about standard of food. Breakfast was below average for a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: To rear of hotel ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champaigncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Champaigncharlie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor experience when you visited the restaurant, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night 5th February 2012. I am a group leisure club member and therefore I received a discounted room. The room was small, with old fittings that had definately seen better days - the bathroom, did look quite grimey, with the faded fitting a marked bath. I am unsure if this is par for the course or simply the ype of room given to those paying the discounted rate. The room above me appeared to have a leaking shower and the drip drip drip into the bath kept me awake most of the night. Charges for WiFi at £6 for one hour I felt was unreasonable and unlikely to make me wamnt to stay again. Great friendly and helpful staff though. Overall I wouldn't stay again unfortunately.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 153
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

All areas smell of smoke, the door didn't lock, the air con didn't work, the bathroom lights didn't work, this was enough to make me check out early.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank si_orch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We needed somewhere to stay in Swindon for a family party. We picked this because of its price and also it's location. I had stayed there before - it was ok but on the whole quite unremarkable.
Well I am now seriously impressed! We were checked in very efficiently - I had to change one of the rooms and this was done without a quibble. Our rooms were warm and quiet. The shower was excellent - always a niggle of mine.
Breakfast (only £5 per person if booked in advance) was also very good - f they even had porridge.
What really made our stay was the staff - they ALL made us feel special.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.3 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,603 reviews
2.2 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#9 of 25 in Swindon
692 reviews
4.3 km away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
7.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: ₹ 4,906 - ₹ 13,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing