We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of Swandown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swandown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I was one of the Parkhurst Cricket club who used The Swandown for a 4 night stay for our cricket tour of the Swindon area. The service was excellent and the owners couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Very friendly and helpful couple who run a very clean and welcoming hotel. Will definitely return if I'm down that way again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
7
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at the Swandown for 3 nights, used the hotel as a base for touring round the cotswolds. The room was clean, good shower, and breakfast was excellent. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Location was central, within walking distance of pubs and restaurants. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandaspwnyouall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

a very fine and comfortable hotel to the price, we can recommend this place.
lovely english breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denmark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We've been coming to Swindon for a musical gathering since 2003. The owners of the Swandown have always been very welcoming and responsive. This is a small and modest hotel, but it is immaculate and well maintained. Breakfast was generous and well cooked. The shower is excellent, with a powerful stream and plenty of hot water. For our purpose - meeting friends from around the world - the Swandown, with its sunny breakfast room and front room with piano are the perfect headquarters. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtcer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We are long term visitors to the Swandown on business in Swindon. The hotel is run by Steven and Fiona who are very happy to look after you while away from home. Car park to the rear is large enough but can get a bit tight when the hotel is full. The hotel is situated within 5 minuites walk of dozens of resturants and bars covering many styles and prices. All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PartitioningDirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,436 reviews
0.5 km away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
138 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
2.5 km away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swandown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swandown Hotel

Property: Swandown Hotel
Address: 36-37 Victoria Road | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Hotel Class:3 star — Swandown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing