We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Paddock

The Paddock
Ranked #166 of 661 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 18
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped off here for lunch after a shopping trip with my grandson. It was busy but everywhere was clean and tidy. We settled for a burger meal as they were buy one get one free. The meal arrived very quickly it was perfect. The meal was hot and very tasty. The staff were very happy to help and very friendly. We enjoyed our meal and drinks. Very welcoming pub with excellent food and friendly happy staff. Would be happy to eat there again .

Thank sannyhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelle P, Manager at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited today, and ordered a big plate chicken jalfrezi and a sirloin steak, medium rare. We received our food, to find that my partners yoghurt mint dip was missing - not an issue. I then cut into my steak and it was rare. I took a bite and the steak was stone cold on the centre. When I told a member of staff they responded with “oh god” walked over and took the plate, without telling me if I was going to receive a replacement meal/refund. I waited for a few minutes and then he brought my meal out. Exactly the same steak had just been chucked on the grill/in the merry chef and brought out to me with the same accompaniments. So the steak was now warm and the rest of the meal freezing cold. No body came over at any point to check mine or my partners meals. I told another member of staff who was extremely helpful and told me he would refund the meal. I don’t normally complain or write reviews, however this was unacceptable. Working in this trade, i am aware that you categorically do not provide someone who has complained of a cold piece of meat the SAME piece of meat just slightly warmer.

Thank marynic98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelle P, General Manager at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit,
If you would like to email the pub directly on 4800@greeneking.co.uk or call on 01332833592 and speak to the manager Adelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend have never been here before so decided to give it a try and we are definitely coming back soon!

As a meat eater I always find it difficult to actually enjoy a pub cooked steak due to it often being over cooked. Today I was blown away at how perfectly cooked this steak was, also everything on the plate was hot including the peas! So happy!

The staff are extremely polite and helpful and are a great asset to the company!

Thank you so much for proving that there are decent steak chefs out there

Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelle P, Manager at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Me and my friends went into the paddock for a casual lunch and the food was exceptionally nice , the pub had a very comfortable and relaxed feel to it and was very clean and tidy. Absolutely amazing service, our waiter Courtney was very smiley and friendly. I would recommend this restaurant and will definitely be visiting again.

Thank Abbiebux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelle P, Manager at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Thank you for continued quality and service, My wife and I with our daughter and her husband and 10 year old daughter, visited the Paddock for a Sunday meal we all had different food and could not fault the quality or service. This is a Hungry Horse pub/restaurant and have always been happy when eating there, having tried other Hungry Horse establishments this is the best.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank givealittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelle P, Manager at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Paddock also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Paddock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing