We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accommodation with Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchover Darley Abbey
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Thank you Birchover Apartments! My husband & I stayed at Darley Abbey apartments with friends to celebrate my birthday on Friday 13th Jan 2012. The apartment was great with many personal touches to celebrate my birthday. We decided to eat in and ordered food from 'Jack Rabbits' which Birchover organised and it was ready and waiting in the fridge just needed popping in the oven. The sauna was very clean and a great way to relax.
Once again thank you Lisa & Carl and all your team for customer service at its best!

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse and although you can see the A38 wasnt aware of the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Manager at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you Sheila B! How fantastic that you chose to celebrate your birthday at Birchover...and that you had such a good time. I'll pass on your kind comments about the cleanliness and service to our housekeeping and 'Meet and Greet' teams in our meeting this afternoon and also let the team at Jack Rabbits know that you enjoyed their food too.

The evening meals that we can provide from Jack Rabbits are a fairly new initiative here - so that you can eat delicious Aga-cooked food at a time to suit you, in the privacy of your apartment. So I am particularly pleased that you wanted to do that on your birthday.

Thank you once again for such a kind review and we'd be delighted if you want to come again for your birthday next year or any other time.

Thank you, Carl and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is mine and my partners second time here. We love it. The first time we stopped in a two bedroom apartment which was a offer, the second time we stopped in a one bedroom. We go to the Broadway pub which has nice food and a relaxing atmosphere. We also go into the derby centre to explore the shops and pubs. We have loved it both times and i would definatley recommend to friends and family. It would be a plus if there was a tv in the bedroom though so you could watch abit of tv in bed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLC123Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Manager at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you very much for the review and lovely title! It's always great to get such good feedback and to hear that you've enjoyed staying in both a 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom apartment. I can concur that the Broadway pub is relaxing and does what I'd describe as high-end 'pub food' - freshly cooked and with an imaginative menu...especially for vegetarians too. It is a 10 minute walk (maybe 12 back as it's ever-so-slightly uphill) along a nice leafy road and they had a big refit last year, plus there's ample outdoor seating for balmy spring and summer nights.

On the 'there's no tv in the bedroom' comment, it's something a couple of guests have mentioned. It is something that we may consider in the future as we appreciate that it is liked by a fair proportion of people. Even if we do, it would only be in select apartments so that guests could choose between apartments with, or without, a tv in the bedroom. So watch this space on that one!

Thank you once again,
Best wishes,
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was a good idea although the first apartment was in a bad way they were happy to change it and we were pleased with the space, lots of it the two bedrooms were really brilliant and although very close to A38 quiet, but if they do not get the Air con working it could be quiet and hot!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badger1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Manager at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review 7 months after staying with us - I am pleased that you still wanted to do so. Unfortunately, because of the time that has passed, we have not been able to establish what the initial problem with the first apartment was but I am immensely pleased that, whatever that was, our team were able to quickly move you to a satisfactory apartment.

The space within the apartments is something that a lot of people comment favourably on and, whilst the hotel was built 15 years before we took over and therefore we might have configured the bedrooms further away from the A38, I'm pleased to report that lots of reviewers have stated the glazing and quality, thick curtains do a great job in keeping the noise out. Writing this on a cold winter's day, it seems incongrous to mention what to do on a hot day, but last summer we had great success in keeping the living room windows open all day (and, for some guests, all night) to keep a nice cool air flow through so that's our top tip for this coming summer! Also, of course, we have a plentiful number of fans for guests for when the all-too-brief heatwave hits each summer.

Thank you again, and please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to travel up from Basingstoke again this year,
Best wishes,
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Last night we stayed at the Darley Abbey apartments as part of the celebration of my wife's birthday. The accommodation lived up to it's promise and the warm welcome that awaited us was a credit to Lisa, the General Manager and her attention to detail - customer service is not always paramount these days.

The apartment was spacious and immaculately presented with good quality furnishings and fitments throughout. The private sauna was simplicity to use and provided that little extra that is not available in even the best of hotels. Even though we checked-in late evening the duty receptionist was well briefed in readiness for our arrival. A complimentary chilled bottle of wine was waiting for us in the apartment - a very nice touch particularly when you consider we were only staying for the one night.

We have been lucky enough to stay in many 4/5 star hotels across europe in recent years and I don't recall ever feeling more satisfied with the standard of accommodation and service afforded to us - it was simply excellent.

We will certainly be staying there again and would heartily recommend it to you without reservation - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We only stayed the one night in a one bedroom penthouse apartment. Based on our experience I would i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Manager at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

One of our new year's resolutions was to take the time to respond to all reviews here on TripAdviser...and not just those reviews where it's been identified that we need to improve. So to kick off that resolution, here goes...

Thank you very much for the extremely kind review. It was great to be compared to such high quality accommodation that you have stayed in elsewhere. We've put a lot of extremely hard work in over the past 18 months since taking over and it's great that Lisa, in particular, has been given credit for many of the initiatives she's introduced in terms of the Reception and the extensive training that's been given to housekeeping and 'Meet and Greet' staff.

We are very proud of our 'Meet and Greet' team and we've passed on your praise to the lady concerned also. For us, the best kind of review we can receive is around customer service and reviews such as these give us all a real boost that such care and attention to detail really is valued and makes a difference.

We are delighted to have played a part in making your wife's birthday celebration memorable and would love to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here on our wedding night and night prior to this and was deffinatly worth the money. They had added personal touches to our room and made it extra special. The apartments are spacious and the sauna within the rooms are very clean and a nice touch. We would love to stay here again and would deffinatly recommend. The only problem we had was our oven didnt work, but this wasnt a problem and they rectified it instantly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr-mrs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
4.0 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
6.1 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,829 reviews
3.6 km away
The Farmhouse at Mackworth
33.9 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchover Darley Abbey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchover Darley Abbey

Address: Church Lane North | Darley Abbey, Derby DE22 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: ₹ 9,362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchover Darley Abbey 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birchover Residences Darley Abbey offer you affordable luxury in a beautiful suburb of Derby. Every apartment has a sauna within the Master en-suite and all apartments benefit from free parking and free Wifi. With a separate lounge/kitchen/dining area and en-suites to every spacious bedroom, it really is affordable luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Birchover Darley Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing