We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills experience, confusing carpark”
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip visiting other locations in Derbyshire, Nottingham and London. I would say this was a very basic, standard hotel. The breakfast was decent -- yogurt, fruits, and pre-cooked sausages, eggs etc. in buffet style -- but it's nothing to write home about. What made the biggest impression was a confusing 5 minutes when we wandered in the underground carpark wondering how to get to the ground level lobby. I hope signage has improved now.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank ariellek_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,811)
There are newer reviews for Jurys Inn Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,630 - 1,634 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and always found it to be great -clean, modern and the staff are really accommodating.
Two months ago, however, I stayed here whilst in Derby, as usual, and had a bad experience. There were a number of incidents which made the stay unenoyable. However, in retrospect, these matters were both unusual for the hotel, and out of the hands off staff (there was a rowdy group staying that weekend). I complained when I got home, as I was so annoyed by the experience. I wouldn't normally do so but I was so exhausted after being kept awake throughout my stay.
The Assistant Manager contacted me immediately after I made my complaint and invited me back to the hotel for a complimentary stay (4 nights -the duration of my trip) with breakfast included. I accepted the offer and my stay was really great. The staff gave us a fabulous, spacious room and the whole stay was really comfortable. It more than made up for the previous stay.
Whats more, he seemed genuinely concerned about the incident, as opposed to trying to placate us.
It was a really welcome response, as most hotels wouldn't go to such lengths to rectify the situation. I was very impressed.
The hotel itself is comfortable and great value -and it is very reassuring to know that management take customers comfort and satisfaction so seriously, as this is definitely not the case in every hotel. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Enjoyed an overnight stay,the room (727) was very comfortable,double & single bed. The room was spotlessly clean & had everthing we needed.

Staff were very friendly,helpful & efficient.There was a great choice for breakfast.

We would deffinitelt stay here again & the price we paid was excellent,£49 for 2 adults & 1 child B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stopped here while visiting my son at the University of Derby and we were very happy with our choice, made I might add because of an offer found by my husband. The hotel room was a good size, with a comfortable bed and an excellent shower. Breakfast was good.......hot and a reasonable choice. My only issue is having to pay to park the car, so we parked at my son's student house instead. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

One night stay - mid week. Receptionist checking us in was very polite and friendly.

Room - 701 Twin room - spacious comfey and very clean

Dinner in bar - tasty and reasonable priced.

Overall. Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac2052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
5.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
1.5 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.9 km away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,636 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: ₹ 4,496 - ₹ 11,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing