We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend break”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great weekend break”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

just come back from a great weekend at cairn hotel harrogate lovely hotel very grand staff great and breakfast very good rooms comfortable location good 5 mins from town so much see and some many place to eat would recommend this the hotel and town to everybody

Room Tip: our double room at the back had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    574
    259
    81
    61
See reviews for
125
702
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Have stayed here twice and it's nice, clean, breakfast is good etc. However the rooms are abit small, singles are ok but the twins are just cramped. needs a facelift as its nothing special

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinWilks110761, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you were happy with some aspects of your stay but concerned to hear that your accomodation felt cramped.

I am sorry this did not meet your expectations, but would like to offer you a larger room at no extra cost on your next visit to the Cairn Hotel in Harrogate.

Please advise me of your next intended date of stay so I can ensure your next stay with us is completely successful.

Kind regards

Martin Wilks
General Manager
The Cairn Hotel
Harrogate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southg shields
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

stayed here with 2 friends on the 6th and 7th of july 2012. we had a great weekend the breakfast was great the staff were lovely and everything was perfect

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Cairn. The first two visits we loved the place. The third visit, we complained about the food in the restaurant at dinner as it wasnt good. Our fourth trip this time was a birthday/anniversary weekend. The hotel had upgraded us to a club room. Couldnt fault the room at all, it was in a quiet part of the hotel overlooking the gardens and very clean and spacious. Dinner was ok, we noticed that as previously it was self service to vegetables etc, it is not now. The chef serves you along the buffet. Choice of veg was
ok, whoever decided to put sultanas in the red cabbage wants shooting! Ugh! The same happened at breakfast the chef serves you - 2 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg. We had a bigger breakfast in the guest house on the coast!! Gone are the large toasters with selection of brown and white breads, where you help yourself, toast comes out in a rack now. Gone are the bowls of fresh fruit, just the prepared oranges, grapefruit and prunes, with a large dish of natural yoghurt. We noticed a change of manager - perhaps as they say "new broom sweeps clean". (cutbacks maybe?)
Can't fault the staff, they were as always, friendly and helpful.
We had a supersaver deal which included dinner. Wouldnt want to pay full rate.
Disappointed as this was a favourite hotel of ours. Doubt we will return.

Room Tip: Go for the sunday super saver, db&b, otherwise can be expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amerikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This once grand hotel is in need of a bit of loving care.
Squeaky floors are "quaint" and OK in the right place but but running repairs appear to have been done on the cheap. Carpets not fitting, in some areas quite worn. Furnishings are not of particularly high standard.
Had a club room but nothing special about it. Poor wifi. Cheap taps etc.
Went out for a meal at night but had breakfast in the hotel. Staff on first morning not up to speed. In fact speed did not come into it. Asked for poached eggs but was told I had to speak to another waiter because it wasn't this one's job. Again cheap teapots and other table items. The lid on my teapot was missing the knob. Following morning struck it lucky with a more attentive waiter.
I did kind of know what to expect when I booked. Unfortunately this is not untypical of some of these old victorian spa and seaside towns that we have left over from a bygone era. Coach parties are a captive audience are seen as a cash cow. The companies that take these hotels over just need to try a bit harder.
The hotel is in a good position and convenient for the town however.
Value wise it was OK. Got a deal but I would never have paid the normal price.
I'm unlikely to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a bare patch of grass. Not very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
1.1 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
4.4 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,974 - ₹ 11,863
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing