We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FT walking weekend”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FT walking weekend”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Recently returned from a great walking weekend in Harrogate and was fortunate to have stayed at the Crown. Hotel location is great, food (breakfast & dinner) enjoyed by all (10 of us), a good place to stay. As mentioned on other reviews, parking can be a problem and would suggest arriving early afternoon to park in hotel car park.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tut1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    487
    253
    110
    67
See reviews for
168
575
52
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked two rooms there for Easter Sunday and they were rear facing on the second floor. Both rooms were of a good size, very clean and well presented. The floors were creaky but the room had everything that we needed. We werent bothered with any noise. We booked about 2 weeks ahead through Late Rooms and got an excellent rate - not much more than we would have paid at one of the B&B's in the town. We were given Easter eggs on arrival. The location is superb - a couple of minutes on foot from the infamous Bettys Cafe and the centre of town. Car parking is limited but the reception staff helpfully directed us to suitable parking which was near. Friends who live in Harrogate joined us for breakfast and were charged £10 per head which they thought was a bit steep but they thought the dining room was very grand and enjoyed the experience.
I think the hotel has seen better days but it has charm and a traditional feel and the location cant be beaten. The lounge bar in the foyer was absolutely dead the night we were there but we didnt check out what was happening in the bar which I think there is at the rear of the hotel. Having said that the whole town seemed very quiet for an Easter week end.

Room Tip: I think front facing could be noisy. Rear facing will be quieter but of course then there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter Weekend.
Harroagte normally has a conference during the Easter Bank Holiday weekend which wasnt on this year hence the town probably appeared quieter than normal.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near Future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed on Thursday and Friday nights before Easter,hotel was very central.Found rooms clean and tidy with toiletries supplied.Rooms are a bit dated and floorboards creak but that goes with the age of the building.Breakfast was superb with loads of choice.There are limited parking spaces available but staff were very helpful and directed us to streets nearby that had free parking.Only down side was that the bar stopped serving draft beer after 11pm but plenty of bars close by.Nice park over the road and the Turkish baths are a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattiepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased taht overall you enjoyed your stay especially the breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked this hotel for Easter Sunday as a treat for my aged parents in law who come from Harrogate. From booking to checking out, we were beautifully looked after. Our rooms were large, clean and comfortable and included extra touches such as bath robes, bottled water and wine. On arrival, we were given an Easter egg and although the car park was full, the receptionist was very helpful in advising us of alternative places to park, even to loaning us a disk for the area. Breakfast is always a treat here - an extensive choice which is well presented - and very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a superior room - I love 129!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello


Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, i am thrilled that you all enjoyed your stay, including the chocolate easter egg!!

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Because of its age there are a few problems with the building, creaking floors and smelly drains, the fact there was no window or fan in out ensuite didn't help either. Staff are smart and professional as you would expect in a hotel of this caliber but I would avoid the hotel bar, we called for a night cap around 10:00pm a double brandy and double whisky cost £23:50, we were almost as shocked as the bar staff! Fortunately the location is excellent and surrounded by bars and restaurants with far more reasonable prices.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, i am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,032 - ₹ 11,155
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing