We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all were impressed”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Bradford
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“all were impressed”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

booked rooms for a team meeting being held at our offices.

Based on the price the guys were expecting flaking plaster, but even a couple of weeks after their stay comments are being made about how impressed they were.

Bedrooms were large and clean, the resteraunt was good plus there was a choice of plenty of other eateries around, on their second night the ones left went accross the road to the tavern and send the food their was great too.

The price way of less than £60 perhaps tinted glasses, but the inside was clean and impressive - who needs premier inns or holiday inn expresses.

Well done the Crown

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    496
    256
    111
    68
See reviews for
174
582
55
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed for a couple of days! Very impressive hotel!Needs a bit of refreshing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD_palace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Had our works Christmas party there this year never again first of all i had booked the party in october and gave them the number of prople that were going when we got there 3 people didnt have anywhere to sit i asked a waitress she couldnt understand me as she was polish they finally got them seated right in the door way they had to leave there coats on its costs us £22 each and it was terrible no taste looked disgusting won't be going back again very disappointed

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed at the Crown for one night in August 2011. Its a beautiful hotel in a great location and our room was right at the front in the centre with the windows on the balcony. I felt like the Queen leaning out of the windows and waving down to my boyfriend!
The hotel is very clean and staff were polite and courteous. Our room was a decent size too. The only down side was the buffet style breakfast. We went to breakfast a good 20 minutes before it ended to find that there was no bacon or beans left. Surely if breakfast is served until 10, they should ensure that they can provide a full English for their guests until that time? Other than that, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed at the Crown for two nights. Positives: it's a really old place with lots of history, interiors are stunning - 20+ ft ceilings in my room, foyer area when you come out of the elevator to the floors with the rooms is fabulous with chandelier, it's in a great location. The Place is clean with good service and food, breakfast and the ballroom are fantastic. Food in The Place was simple, but good and priced about the same as some of the pubs nearby.

Negatives: service wasn't horrible, but not outstanding, either. At least one of the front desk people gave me the feeling she thought she was doing me a favor and seemed a little annoyed. The crew manning the breakfast buffet seemed very friendly, though, as did one of the young bartenders in The Place. The rooms were clean, but tired. Unlike a hotel I stayed at Cheltenham earlier in the week, this one seemed to cut corners a little on comfort and amenities. One of the biggest turnoffs - the bathroom fan had a motion sensor and would trip on when you went in, and it stayed on a long time.

I'd stay here again because it's a very interesting place to stay, and in the middle of everything in Harrogate. I don't believe in ghosts, but I was awoken three times in one night due to some strange sounds (sound of my chair or something else being dragged across the carpet). When I turned the light on, there was nothing out of place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amyanderic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
153 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.3 km away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,697 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,960 - ₹ 11,160
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing