We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and friendly accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamah Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alamah Guest House
Ranked #4 of 103 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very warm and friendly accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have stayed at this Guest House in Harrogate a number of times and have never been disappointed. A warm welcome always awaits on your arrival and most importantly the accommodation is very clean. Since my last visit there have been a few changes making my stay, this time, even better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
110
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Whilst attending the Ladies Barbershop Convention in Harrogate over the weekend 21st to 23rd October 2011 we stayed at the Alamah. The guest house has been refurbished to a very high standard since our last visit and the rooms and facilities are first class. Our every requirement was met without problem or difficulty and Judy, the proprietor, was there to meet us and show us our rooms. The whole of the guest house is presented extremely well and everywhere was spotlessly clean, courtesty of both Judy and Anita the housekeeper. The breakfast choice was extensive and the cooked breakast, if required, is cooked to order (with eggs however you want them). They use local produce where available. Vegetarians are also catered for without difficulty. We shall certainly stay at the Alamah on future visits to Harrogate and would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone either visiting on holiday or for a conference due to its location near the town centre and proximity to the Conference Centre.

Room Tip: A selection of single, double, twin and family rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetT1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is my third stay at the Alamah, but my first since I have been on Trip Advisor.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. It stuck in my memory since the first time I stayed here 7 years ago (in a good way) and every time I have been back it has been better than before.

This time around, the bedrooms have been upgraded with flat screen TVs, iPod docks, they have wifi and are all ensuite now. There is no sense of expense being spared to provide a cheaper sleep - the room is comfy, clean, well furnished and the clock radio and kettle are solid, quality items, that you would feel comfortable using. The ensuite is a generous sized one with a good quality shower.

In the morning there is a great breakfast, which had an Elgar soundtrack in the past for that classic Olde England feel (although I know he was associated with Malvern in the midlands, it still seems to work here), and now the breakfast tunes are shuffling away on MP3.

Superb access to Harrogate conference centre, which is just across the road, and town centre is about 7-8 minutes away on foot to shops and restaurants. If I am in Harrogate again, this is where I want to stay.

Room Tip: Talk to Judy the owner and she will work out what is best for you. The front rooms look onto Kings R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murnauontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

A cosy B&B walking distance from the centre of Harrogate. Clean and comfortable room/bed - good size for a family of 4. Incredibly welcoming and friendly owner Judy will direct you to the best places to eat or to visit - she was extremely nice to our kids too!
Definitely recommend it if you have a couple of nights in Harrogate - with or without a family in tow.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pascale v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Full Marks! Clean, cosy, great breakfast, very welcoming... Fantastic location opposite Harrogate Exhibition Centre. The Alamah is a real credit to Judy the Landlady.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
1.1 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.1 km away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 103 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 km away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#5 of 103 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamah Guest House

Property: Alamah Guest House
Address: 88 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,601 - ₹ 7,607
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamah Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to maintain high standards and have many 'repeat bookers.' The Alamah is ideally located for conferences and exhibitions at Harrogate International Centre, the town centre and as a base to explore the beautiful North Yorkshire countryside.We are proud to hold a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award for 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamah Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing