We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Covid safe.”
Review of Charters Bar

Charters Bar
Ranked #94 of 511 Restaurants in Peterborough
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Outside bar was closed. Very strange.
Online booking system did not work.
Had to go inside to get drinks , people inside were not wearing masks walking about.
Lots of staff inside with loads of people outside wanting service.
Very slow service and poor selection of drinks compared to what it used to have.
Very disappointed and will not be visiting again.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank BettyVan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2021

I visited yesterday with my wife a lovely girl called Shelby took our order and made are drinks. It was fast service I have no complaints at all will definitely be visiting again soon!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank petercF2102CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

Went for drinks in the garden after reserving a table. Tried to scan QR code but didn’t work, apparently it’s their own and not NHS. Didn’t work anyway. The gents toilet us frankly a disgrace. Freezing cold water (apparently the same as the ladies), hand drier out of order. All of this in virtual darkness as the lights also didn’t work. For the sake of people dining I hope the chefs have access to better hygiene facilities.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Y5321CQnigelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021

On arrival, there were large groups/gangs of drunken males shouting and play fighting. When I expressed concern, I was told that quite a number of people were flouting rules and were also refusing to leave.
We were told to order food and drink using the scan QR code app which took us quite some time to realise wasn’t working. When we asked about this we were then told that the app didn’t work for food after 2.30 so a lot of time was wasted. We were told to look at the menu on the website then order inside. We did this but we’re then told all the menu wasn’t available and was then given a paper menu to look at. By the time we had ordered food and got our first drink we had been there for a very chilly hour!!! Such awful awful service!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank 615clarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

great boat, private outside area and dining on a boat overlooking the river nene

service is very good and many selection good

really missed this place during lockdown and looking ofowroard to re-opening outdoor benches -- great views.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MumtazLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charters Bar also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Charters Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.