We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
287
178
85
52
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
178
85
52
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station car park attendant directly opposite the station peterborough station no lift shopping centre bridal suite trouser press large bathroom garden room few minutes walk sunday lunch bar area wedding venue scones waiting staff following morning
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We had a total of 11 rooms for the day and evening of our wedding. We had arranged breakfast for many of the party for the Saturday morning, lunch to be served in the Hill Suite with Prosecco and strawberries and breakfast the next day.
Breakfast service was dreadfully slow, there was not enough food or even tea and coffee. There was one slice of toast per person. The fruit and additional toast requested arrived too late. Lunch was a disaster, with sandwiches served after clearly being made much earlier. The bread was curled up and dry and the salad garnish floppy and sad looking. The Prosecco and strawberries arrived after we reminded the hotel that it had been ordered and paid for. The following morning, our jacuzzi bath spewed out mould and lots of hairs when the jets were turned on, after allowing 45 minutes for the bath to eventually fill. On the surface, the Hill Suite looked lovely. On closer inspection, however, the dust and grime around the room was disgusting. When unplugging a phone charger from the bedside, the sheet was caught, pulling it back to reveal lots of hairs stuck into the mattress and bedding. I was horrified to think I had slept in that bed. When the head housekeeper was told about all of this and shown the filth in the room and bath, she herself was very shocked and promised to ring us to discuss all the problems further when we returned from honeymoon the following week. That phone call never came. We then wrote to the general manager, explaining all the problems in a detailed letter. Despite a short call from the events supervisor to say that they had received the letter, we have not heard from anyone since. A great example of customer service gone very wrong. Suffice to say none of our party will set foot in this hotel again. Very disappointing after so many promises, only one of which was kept - the rooms were ready early.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Stayed for one night and found this to be a well presented, comfortable hotel literally a stones throw from the train station and value for money. One negative was the really low water pressure in the shower, however on the plus side it was hot.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GreenRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

GreenRobbie

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. All the staff take great pride in working here and it shows in the way that they look after our guests.
The hotel is old and has character but this is no excuse for basic issue to happen. we have spent time and money on the water issue and it looks like the hot water side has been dealt with but the pressure on some of our mixer showers will still need to be looked at.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Shaun Rollinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent. Brilliant meal in the restaurant and excellent service. Would certainly stay there again. A wide selection of meals to choose from. All the ingredients were very fresh and very tasty. Very close to railway station.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Good Morning

Thank you for your review. Our 1852 restaurant will be changing its menu next week to a more spring/summer style but all the old favourites will still remain. As you stated we only use the freshest ingredients, and all our meals including our breakfasts are cooked to order, which is very rare in a three star hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Shaun Rollinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We had some 11 rooms booked for two nights for our wedding at another venue. This was central and eventual after a lot of chasing phone calls different staff telling us they would return our calls and emails and never did! I them called and spoke to a manager who restored our faith and we went a head and booked! This should of been a very good signal of what was to come !!! A letter sent and received by Shaun [--]. General manager still remains unanswered from the first week in April !!! We received a call from A member of staff called Lizzie [--] saying how sorry she was that we had experienced so many problems and that Mr [--] was in receipt of our detailed 2 page letter. She explained that £100 had been added back to us some 2 weeks previous of checking this this is correct! How ever totally unacceptable !!! And still no reply from Mr [--] !! We will be getting our wedding party to also to leave their views ! Do not expect what you pay for !!! Very very poor ! Photos and copy of complaint to follow !

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank dduguid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

This historic hotel is in a good position next to the railway station and only a short walk to the town centre. There is a large carpark with plenty of space. There are no lifts but help is offered with the luggage should you need it.
We had a large room with a large bathroom that had a roll top bath with separate shower.
The staff were all very pleasant, we dined in the restaurant which was very good. It is good to see the money has been invested in restoring this historic hotel. There is still some work to do but we very much enjoyed our stay. We would definitely return on our next visit to Peterborough.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LauraDaveJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Laura
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we met all your expectations and in every area, room, food, service.
You are correct there is no lift, and of course we do offer assistance as you have stated. We look forward to your next vidst to the Great Northern Hotel and to Peterborough.
Kind Regards
Shaun Rollinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews