We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,586)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveller rating
980
415
122
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
415
122
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porridge old world charm historic hotel irish whiskey old style the river cie tour wonderful hotel carvery lunch the hotel manager the pub waterford crystal breakfast was excellent car park full irish breakfast bar food viking triangle
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful, historic hotel. Our room was very clean and very charming. It is located downtown, within walking distance of many attractions. The food was excellent. The staff was great. Sami and Jason at the Reception desk were especially friendly and helpful! It was a joy talking to them.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We really are lucky with our location being so close to so many of the wonderful things Waterford has to offer. I'll be sure to pass on your message to Sami and Jason and the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Granville Hotel a truly updated 600 year old hotel, rooms were exceptional, wonderful antique furnishings in all the rooms, someone did their homework in renovating this old hotel.
Best food we had on our complete trip, supper was excellent and was breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write your five star review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the old world charm the hotel has to offer. It's great also to hear that we were your favourite place to eat on your trip. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

This hotel is historic and the location is great. The vibe is also a bit dated along with the rooms. The staff is great and everything about our stay was fine. Breakfast is comprehensive and the restaurant staff was great. This is a great hotel for older travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hello John,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, thank you also for all your kind words. We hope we get the chance welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

A very well appointed hotel, friendly and attentive staff, a comfortable room and a good menu choice in the restaurant. We last stayed in the Granville 50 years ago and what a lot has changed since! It is well restored to former grandeur and it shows. What also shows is the fact that it is family owned and run. It makes such a difference from the bland sameness of chain hotels. And all the bread and preserves are made in the hotel's kitchen - few offer that kind of service today. We will not leave it another fifty years before returning!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river may seem potentially noisy but the double glazing copes well!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Ian,

Thank you so much for such a great review of your stay with us, it was a pleasure to welcome you back after so long. We are a family run hotel and it's nice to hear that it is apparent by how we do things. We like for all of our guests to feel welcomed, comfortable and relaxed as if they were in a home away from home. As members of Good Food Ireland we pride ourselves on sourcing as locally as possible wherever possible and producing as much as we can by our talented chefs. Our Raspberry jam won Gold in the Blas na hÉireann awards along with Best in Waterford along with our strawberry jam being a finalist. We hope we get to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here on a Wednesday night. Check in was seamless, very friendly.
What stuck me most about the hotel was the quality of the carpets and the paint of the doors and skirting boards. All done very tastefully.
The room was large 324, and spotlessly clean. The shower/bath are getting a bit dated not but all very functional and again very clean.
The lift is a tad small. If you are fit and with no suitcases, take the stairs, the climb is not too hard.
Parking across the road is free if staying at the hotel.
Breakfast was very good. Freshly cooked which makes a change.
All round, very nice place to stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank NKS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It's great to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are lucky to have a very good housekeeping and maintenance team that work endlessly to keep the hotel looking its best. Being one of the oldest hotels in Ireland we are a little restricted in what we can do in terms of the the elevator, luggage can be brought to your room by our porters, if necessary. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast so much. I hope we get to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews