We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,562)
Filter reviews
1,562 results
Traveller rating
963
409
121
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
409
121
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgeold world charmhistoric hotelirish whiskeyold stylethe rivercie tourwonderful hotelcarvery lunchthe hotel managerthe pubwaterford crystalbreakfast was excellentcar parkfull irish breakfastbar foodviking triangle
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,562 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here on a Wednesday night. Check in was seamless, very friendly.
What stuck me most about the hotel was the quality of the carpets and the paint of the doors and skirting boards. All done very tastefully.
The room was large 324, and spotlessly clean. The shower/bath are getting a bit dated not but all very functional and again very clean.
The lift is a tad small. If you are fit and with no suitcases, take the stairs, the climb is not too hard.
Parking across the road is free if staying at the hotel.
Breakfast was very good. Freshly cooked which makes a change.
All round, very nice place to stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank NKS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It's great to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are lucky to have a very good housekeeping and maintenance team that work endlessly to keep the hotel looking its best. Being one of the oldest hotels in Ireland we are a little restricted in what we can do in terms of the the elevator, luggage can be brought to your room by our porters, if necessary. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast so much. I hope we get to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Beautiful historical hotel with quaint styled rooms. Bed comfortable and bathroom small but satisfactory. The building is lovely and both the bar and dining rooms outstanding. Serve a wonderful gin cocktail and make great Irish coffee. Breakfast is a must. Don’t miss the porridge.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank oioioi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you so much for all your very kind review. It really seems like you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear you got to try our signature Gin Cocktail using our gold medal award winning raspberry jam. We do pride ourselves on making a good Irish coffee alright, performing Irish coffee demonstrations as part of some tour packages, normally a hit with the locals too. We do offer unique porridge toppings alright, offering, Bailey's Irish cream or a splash of Waterford's own Muldoon Whiskey - flavoured with hazelnut and caramel. Hopefully we'll get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

The Granville Hotel is old world, beautiful, very clean and lovingly restored with very helpful and courteous staff. We had our best dinner ever at their restaurant and everything from the first course to dessert was just simply fantastic! The delicious blending of flavors of each dish and the impeccable service of our very attentive, warm and personable waitress made this dinner truly a memorable one.
We do have one suggestion - our bathroom sink had separate hot and cold water faucets and it would be a wonderful improvement if the faucets were changed to just one faucet and that would allow warm water to run instead of very hot and super cold water.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lolabecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent time spent with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the old world charm the hotel has to offer and especially that you enjoyed your evening meal so much. We aim to create special dining experiences for all of our guest so it's lovely to hear that you felt you've had just that. Thank you also for your suggestion. I hope we get to welcome you back again to give you another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Fantastic location within walking distance of pubs, restaurants, shops etc. Parking across the road. Lovely helpful staff. Spotless room and bathroom. We booked the room with the King size bed and the room was lovely and big. The only thing was the view - we looked out on the side of another building but we weren't in the room long enough for it to matter as there is so much to do and see. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dunromin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

What a lovely account of your recent time spent with us. I'm delighted to hear of all the many aspects of your stay that you enjoyed and I thank you for your review. When booking next time you can request a room with a view and we will do our best to facilitate you. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

This hotel was just what we hoped it would be. It was an older hotel with great history that had been updated, but lost none of its charm. We had a wonderful room #317, which was spacious, had a little sitting alcove and was nicely decorated. Espresso machine was a nice touch. The bar was very nice with plenty of seating and wonderful specialty drinks. Nice to sit and chat with neighboring guest. The hotel is located right on the river and provides easy access into town. Great staff. We will return to it when visiting Waterford again.

Room Tip: Room #317 was very nice
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi Jer,

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I thank you for taking the time out to write your review. You really hit the nail on the head with the atmosphere we aim to create within the hotel. Offering all the modern comforts but not losing any of the old world charm and history the hotel is steeped in. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Waterford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews