We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
964
409
121
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
409
121
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgeold world charmhistoric hotelirish whiskeyold stylethe rivercie tourwonderful hotelcarvery lunchthe hotel managerthe pubwaterford crystalbreakfast was excellentcar parkfull irish breakfastbar foodviking triangle
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The hotel oozes history and atmosphere, this is not a chain hotel were everything has a cooperative image, this hotel is unique it has a personality of it's own.

The large public areas are comfortable and well designed incorporating many antique pieces of furniture.

Our bedroom overlooking the river had a very comfortable super kingsize bed. The sitting area close to the windows providing a relaxing spot when reading and planning our day.

The room had all the expected facilities, tea, biscuits and an expresso machine.

The decor is relaxing and traditional.

Thank goodness this is definately not a hotel to accommodate stag and hen parties.

Room Tip: Best views at the front over looking the river, quieter rooms at the rear
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Gillian,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Granville Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. The hotel is soaked in history and we try to maintain that in all that we do. It's lovely to hear you felt so comfortable during your stay as that is our hope for each and every guest. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Jason and Sami provided a warm reception on a cold and rainy evening. The rooms were cozy and comfortable and the restaurant/bar was delightful with sing-along traditional Irish music as well as American oldies. Great hospitality. Would definitely stay again!

(Self parking is across the street in a lot)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Maureen,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review, your comments are very much appreciated. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I will pass on your kind words to Jason and Sami, along with the rest of the Granville team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Good location.
Hotel - very period, needs an upgrade.
Room - ok, but needs an upgrade.
Bed - good.
Bathroom - good, but also needs an upgrade.
Breakfast - included was ok, cooked and brought out for us.
Included dinner was really nice, included Irish coffee demonstration.
Service - fantastic, really personable.
Wifi - just ok, not great in room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VKNY44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your kind words about the Granville team, I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal and the Irish coffee demonstration - a guest favourite. We are one of the oldest and most historic hotels in Ireland, the hotel is soaked in history and we try to maintain that in all that we do. Ongoing work is being done on upgrading the rooms, while also maintaining the old world charm the hotel has to offer. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Had a lovely midweek break in this hotel. Room spacious with a view of the river Suir and no noise from passing traffic. The food is very good, good choice for breakfast which is cooked to order. The evening meal is delicious. All the staff are friendly and smiling. Hotel is ideal as shops close by and the beach and the Waterford Greenway are close by.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank smithy717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you so much for your generous feedback and for taking the time to post your review. For the many aspects of your stay you have mentioned, your kind comments are very much appreciated. We certainly are lucky with our location, in short walking distance to the shops and historic attractions, a short drive from a number of beautiful beaches and surrounded by a number of bike hire companies with access to the Waterford Greenway - who also offer bike delivery to the hotel. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My mother, daughter and I stayed for one night last week and we had a wonderful stay from start to finish. From the friendliest of welcomes greeting us on arrival at the reception desk to the hardworking and efficient bar staff, every staff member we encountered had a smile and a willingness to offer assistance. As it was raining outside; we relaxed most of the afternoon/evening in the warm and popular bar area and had an excellent light meal. The reception area and our bedrooms/bathrooms were tastefully decorated, exceptionally clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was a wide choice of foods available at breakfast the next morning and the full Irish was delicious. Our stay at The Granville Hotel was an absolute treat for us all!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Otfordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is a pleasure to read such a positive and deserved review of the Granville team. I am delighted you also enjoyed the food and facilities during your stay with us. We are delighted that you felt your time in our hotel with your mother and daughter was such a treat. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Granville Hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews