We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genny +3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“genny +3”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed here on thurs 16th feb with two daughters and friend. warm welcome at reception and throughout our stay. rooms were interconnecting and spotless.had dinner in restaurant that night and was not disappointed.Service was excellent and food more than we could eat. Spa was great too. found no faults at all and staff could not have been more helpful. Would recommend this hotel for a weekend break or an overnight stay.

Room Tip: ask and you shall receive, if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gennrwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    297
    103
    55
    36
See reviews for
486
432
28
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel because the location was close to an event we were attending in Monaghan. Its about a ten minute walk from Monaghan town. Its a hotel that has clearly been there for years and has been upgraded from time to time, but they don't seem to have got it quite right.
Very nice staff on reception when we checked in. I noticed lots of children running around and it was quite noisy.
The room was a fair size, as was the bathroom , both were very warm. The pillows were so hard, that I had a crick in my neck the next morning.
The bar was large. There were two huge televisions sets that I could see. The one over the bar was muted, however the other one was on at full volume,playing a match that one of the barstaff wanted to watch. However, the volume could not drown out the noise of the children, who were running up and down the bar the entire time we were in there. After having some food, which was very nice, we could stand the noise no longer. Just before we left, I enquired from one of the staff what time the children were allowed in the bar till, it was 9.30 at this point. He seemed unsure but said he thought it was 8PM,as long as they were being supervised by parents. This was not the case with the vast majority of them. There was a baby in a stroller who was crying the WHOLE time we were in there and who was occasionally told to be quite, to no avail. There was clearly a problem,but the parents still stayed in the bar.
The next morning, having gone down to breakfast, that was advertised as being served at your table, we found a large buffet set up. I enquired about the table service and was told that there was 190 people staying, so it had to be done buffet style. We queued up for breakfast and noticed that when the chef made the selection we requested, it was put under a grill for a few seconds. This made the plate hot, but when we got to the table, the food was tepid. The choice was wolfing it down quickly before it went stone cold and risking indegestion, or leaving it. We chose the latter, leaving the dining room hungry.
When I checked out, I paid my bill and made my complaints. A very nice manager came out and I told her of our experiences in the bar, with all the children. She said it was a family hotel and that we should expect that. The issue of the time they were allowed in the bar till, seems a little fuzzy.The breakfast was not mentioned, nor was an offer of a refund because it was inedible.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms at the front of the hotel, as the bells from the church, ring with alarming freq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank minnihandbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have just spent a very enjoyable few days in the Hillgrove. Staff are fantastic and nothing is a problem. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Games room is small but has a variety of activities for all ages. Only problem was that a lot of the activities i.e. pool table, arcade games etc. required money so kids were constantly asking for euros to play. But overall, with the swimming pool and the close proximity to the town we were able to amuse the whole family without constantly handing out money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here on Friday 10th Feb 2012 and were extremely disappointed..The staff on reception were unprofessional and had a 'couldn't be bothered' attitude.. our room was on the 5th floor and was big and spacious but was disappointed with bathroom and shower - the water only reached a comfortable level when i had finished showering and had a screen round it that made it look and feel like i was in a childs play pen!!! Our room had disabled access which is brilliant if you need it or if it's the last room available so you have no choice but we booked our room before Christmas.. We booked a meal in the restaurant, the food was lovely but every time the watress came to the table she leaned over someone to reach the person at the opposite end of the table :( We ordered our breakfast in bed and had to ring down at 10.15 am for the 2nd time to get it delivered. There was no wifi in the bedroom and i had the worse sleep due to the bed and not noise or disturbance for any other guests :( the lesiure facilites are excellent but again was disappointed that the weren't open until 9 am... Definately will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family ..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siobhann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I was here on the first weekend in February and it was Fabulous. The staff at this hotel are amazing and really help you out if you have any queries. We did a Murder Mystery weekend and it was so well organised. The staff that took part where also hilarious and really added to our night. Rooms were spacious and beds were comfy. Bathroom was quiet big and the shower was fine. Breakfast was delicious. I can't compliment this hotel enough and will certainly be back to take advantage of the spa the next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
1.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
1.0 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
223 reviews
9.2 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
0.8 km away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
71 reviews
19.8 km away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,634 - ₹ 16,585
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing