We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Helm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Helm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great place to stay if you want to go for the self-catering option. We stayed upstairs in the apartments which had everything we needed for the stay. Plus you can get a really nice breakfast for only a little extra. The staff were really friendly too. A little out of the main town centre so you will need a taxi at night but at least there is no noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Have just got back from a very pleasant visit to Westport. Westport is our favourite destination for a weekend away. We had our meal on Saturday evening in the Helm. We were late making a reservation and asked for a table for 3 for 7.30pm. They were fully booked out for the evening but Shane organised a table for us for 6pm and had no problem in fitting in an extra as short notice. The meal as usual was superb with varied dishes at the table which included chicken, fish and goujons and all were cooked to perfection. The staff are always so pleasant and Shane really knows how to look after the customers. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. We will be back again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at the Helm for a long weekend in January 2012 and right from the start we were made to feel very welcome with cups of coffee to warm us up. There were only the 2 of us and yet we were given a 3 bedroomed apartment overlooking the quay with all the facilities you could want. The pub has a very welcoming feel to it and even at this time of year is still very busy at weekends with live music played on a Saturday night and during the afternoon on Sunday. It has a very good reputation locally for the food served and based on our experience is richly deserved. The restaurant was full on the Saturday and Sunday from early evening and booking a table would be reccomended. Everone was very friendly with the owners taking a very active part in making our stay a very pleasurable one. Would definately reccomend this property as a base for exploring this part of Ireland and as a good night out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dal-man-rochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is all about expectations. If you're looking for a quaint b and b in the center of town, this isn't it. On the other hand, what we got was pretty good. The property is located several miles from the center of town near a peaceful Quay. We were offered a large two bedroom apartment, not what we needed for the 2 of us, furnished rather sparsely, but just right for a family. The bar and restaurant were good enough, but wasn't that cozy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ennis, ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Didn't stay here but spend had dinner 1 night & spent the other night there for a few beers watching Estonia - Ireland. Food was excellent, service & staff also outstanding. Also special thanks to the owner/manager who really went the extra mile when he saw it was my wife's birthday. Will certainly be back next time i'm in Westport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.5 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.1 km away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.9 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.5 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helm Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Helm Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Helm The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,720 - ₹ 11,910
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Helm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helm b&b
The Helm Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing