We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family friendly fun hotel and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

we travelled to westpotts castlecourt hotel for a mid week family break. the location and hotel accomodation lived up to and exceeded our expectations. the hotel is located in the centre of westport with easy access to the busy buzzy and very pretty town cente. no check in and reception was very friendly, as were all of the staff all of the time. as guests we felt really valued. our room was very nice, clean and the beds were very comfortable. It was close to the leisure centre which suited our eleven year old swimming enthusiast. we had no problem with noise at any stage, the buffet breakfast selection was adequate,not a huge selection, however there is plenty to choose from off the breakfast menu. we ate in the hotel on two evenings, it was included in our package, on both occasions we had very friendly service and theo food was very fine, good for hotel food in my opinion we came here for a family break and i must commend the hotel for the kids buzz club which made entertaining our son very easy, enjoyable and fun. i am trying hard to find something to criticise but i am hard pushed. we will return and look forward to it.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor, roof top, which has low ceilings and small windows, so not so much light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your kind comments about your recent family break with us here in The Castlecourt Hotel and I would like to take this opportunity to say Thank you from both the management and the staff.

It is always our aim not just to meet our guests expectations but to exceed them so it is most rewarding to know that we achieved this.

I was also delighted to learn that the buzz club made entertaining your son easy and enjoyable.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Castlecourt Hotel on the occasion of your next visit to Westport

Regards
Elizabeth Conway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,258 - 1,262 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel on Thursday, 19 and Sunday 22 July 2012. We got a great welcome from the reception staff. The room on both nights was great and although the hotel was very busy there was no night time noise. We had dinner in the very busy bistro on Sunday night, great service and the chef makes his own burgers.The breakfast was fantastic - as much as you wanted to eat- The dining room staff were friendly and smiling. The owners (Ann and Joe Corcoran) were setting up tables for breakfast on both of the mornings. We will be back

Room Tip: Anywhere is good, we were near the leisure centre on one night and at the top of the stairs on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamo1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience of our hotel with others.

I was delighted to learn that you had the opportunity to dine in The Courtyard Bistro during your stay and that you enjoyed the experience.

We look forward to having the pleasure of extending the same warm welcome to you on the occasion of your next visit to us
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in July 2012. we were on a 'charity walk' to the top of Croagh Patrick. Staff were so friendly and well trained. Food was excellent and while the hotel was busy (three hen-nights, one wedding and our group of fund-raisers) the service never lapsed and we were made to feel as if we werte the only two staying there! A massage and relaxation in Sula Spa, after the ascent/decent of 'the Reek' was more than welcome and, again, the staff there were really friendly and welcoming, rather than the 'stand-offish' or 'superior' attitude that we sometimes encounter in Spas.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skindiverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review The Castlecourt Hotel following your recent 2 night break .
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food excellent, Staff friendly, well trained and that you were able to relax and enjoy a massage in Spa Sula following your Charity Climb of Croagh Patrick.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to The Castlecourt Hotel in the not too distant future
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I am resisting the urge to write an essay on how wonderful our recent family trip to the Castlecourt Hotel was. Accommodating our extended families requirement of 5 rooms all together from very small babies to the grandparents was no problem, we were altogether on the same floor. Personally, my room was a suite with jacuzzi and fourposter bed. All the rooms were very clean and modern, lots of space and couches. The cleaning staff were very polite and again accommodating.

The food, oh the food, where can I start? Breakfast was a feast of fruit, bread (you have to try the mini danish pastries and croisants) eggs and of course the full Irish and other treats. Everything was tasty and the hot food was hot. We did enjoy an evening meal included in our package and I can safely say that out of 13 people eating at our table, young and old, everything was beautiful. The seafood was especially fresh and tasty and the wine selection was great.

We utilised the swimming pool everyday, again it was modern and kept very clean, changing rooms were excellent with facilities for babies etc. A fully equiped gym although I confess I only went once and only on the threadmill. (I was on holiday after all). Towels were provided but remember to bring a hat! Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi for the adults is always a treat. I didnt get to use the spa, however my parents did and came out completely refreshed and relaxed after a few hours and spoke very highly of the staff and facilities.

The hotel provides kiddie activites and a DVD session in the evenings, we didnt use however plenty of notice around the hotel. We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and the lounge area was superbly comfortable with lots of couches and chairs to curl up with the complimentary newspaper or a book (managed this for a few minutes anyway). For those who like appearances, there are the most amazing fresh flower displays around the reception and lounge areas.

The location of the hotel was perfect for lots of reasons, we strolled down the town popping in and out of the shops (the locals were great chatters), we popped into a few of the many pubs and we were only a few minutes from from the quays and the fabulous Westport House where the adults revisited their childhood. Our group enjoyed, laser clay pigeon shooting, bumpy slides, train rides, swan boats, ziplining and zorbing. The log Fume water ride was a great attraction and of course the house itself steeped in history. Close to Achill Island and to Castlebar for the hardcore shoppers.

All in all, this was just great and really and truely the staff could not do enough for us. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemycom4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to start by offering my sincere thanks to you and your extended family for all your kind comments following your recent stay with us here in The Castlecourt Hotel.

The C Club Leisure Centre is extremely popular with all our guests and Spa Sula offers a chance for guests to relax and be pampered so I was delighted to learn that some of your family had the opportunity to avail of these facilities.

We were truly delighted to have been able to cater for all your family requirements and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back again.

Once again thank you for your comments
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I have to say I could not really fault this hotel. Our room was lovely and breakfast was very good. We had booked a weekend package which included three nights bed and breakfast, two evening meals and also tickets to the Westport music festival for two days. Because I had a problem with my leg we decided to leave a day early. We had only availed of one night of the evening meal so did not expect anythng extra as we decided to leave a day early at one o cloclk but we were not charged for the extra night nor the extra evening meal!! Staff were so courtous and really nice. Will definetly go back !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fondoftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,129 reviews
2 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
0.5 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,469 reviews
1.4 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,107 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: ₹ 5,142 - ₹ 14,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing