We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit to Westport not the last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“1st visit to Westport not the last”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Four of us in our sixties thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay from the 1st minute to the last. It has all the facilities you could wish for and we found that for young family's there was an excellent range of activities for all ages . We had a 3 day package -2 dinners included and the dinners were both varied and excellent each night , which was a welcome change from other hotels who don't change the menu from day to day. Full marks to the Castlecourt Hotel and all the staff who gave us a holiday to remember. We were on the 2 nd floor and while there was some noise from the A/c units outside this was NOT EXCESSIVE and did not hinder a good nights sleep. I'm a light sleeper and I dropped off no bother. At some stage we will return .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnicol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    369
    129
    51
    29
See reviews for
419
564
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just visited the Castlecourt for my sister's birthday. I informed the hotel and they upgraded us to a deluxe room. The room was nice and spacious with a four poster bed! but "deluxe" I don't think so. The bathroom was quite small and our room overlooked a car park where delivery trucks such as the guinness truck (delivering barrels of stout early in the morning) arrive. As part of our package we had dinner included. When we went down to the souless orchard restaurant we were given the choice of two awful tables. One was right on top of another couple and the other was on its own near the desk. The menu was as dull as it gets. Fan of melon, prawn cocktail, roast beef, salmon in a chive sauce etc.. We ordered the prawn cocktail and it arrived about 30 seconds later. Not a good sign. A few pieces of lettuce a few defrosted prawns and a bit of marie rose sauce. The roast beef was awful. Grey in colour and as tough as old boots. It was covered with a sauce clearly to hide the fact that it was cooked a lot earlier. You could break a window with the roast potato. Both desserts were covered with an orange and strawberry "coulis" that was sickly sweet. The staff were friendly but they started to clear up around us to set up for breakfast. It was about 9 o'clock! The food was not inedible just really below par. Do not pay extra to have dinner included. Go to the plaza for dinner. The food there is really good. We did go to the sula spa in the Plaza. This was fabulous. Very professional and welcoming. Overall the hotel is fine. Grand rooms and very helpful staff.The staff are very friendly and the hotel is in a great location. If you can afford to pay extra stay in the Plaza ( Its fabulous.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eims21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great value and excellent service for a relaxing break in early spring WIll definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lights47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We booked this family deal through a special offer deal and honestly thought it would be mediocre but I'm glad to say I was proven wrong. When we arrived with our 3 young kids, we were barely out of the car when we were met by a porter and a trolley to take the mountain of stuff we had! He waited til we checked in and came with us to the room. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough. There was a fantastic kids club that our oldest loved. The food was enjoyable and well done..I honestly can't say a bad thing. It's very family friendly and having read the other reviews we had no bad experience of noise. I would definitely come back here with the kids. Thanks for a great stay. It's a pity I didn't book for longer!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay in the castlecourt with my husband and our daughter aged five and son aged 6 months. We found the staff very friendly and attentive and they were very welcoming to ourselves and the children. Our little girl received a colouring pack when we arrived. She loved the swimming pool and cried when we had to come home. Breakfast was amazing!! Wish I had that choice every morning. Rooms were clean and spacious and we had no bother with noise in fact we both commented on the quietness. We can't wait to return!! Well done castlecourt!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
1,999 reviews
2.1 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
893 reviews
0.5 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,341 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,042 reviews
1.4 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,784 - ₹ 15,636
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing