We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and Myself was very disappointed and will not stay in the hotel again. The room was not as advertised. There was a stink in the room with cobwebs and staff not friendly at all. Breakfast was poor. Did not feel relaxed after our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ralene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 859 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Myself and my partner, along with another couple booked this hotel for a two night stay. We booked the hotel through it's own website and it stated on it that the hotel was 4 star rated by the AA. I have no idea how the AA gave this hotel such a high rating. We drove from Dublin and arrived at the hotel early as we intended to have lunch there. On arrival we asked at reception if we could check in after our lunch and they said the room would b ready for us in 45 mins, We were happy with this. The lunch we had in the hotel was average and very over priced for what we got, soup and sandwiches, cost over €45! An hour later I inquired if the room was ready, we were told not for another half hour. We had planned activities in the town and we were hoping to get changed and head out as soon as we could. Two hours later we were finally given our room. The reception staff were highly inefficient and were slow to communicate to us when we could actually get our room. They also seemed to not know about the hotel's facilities as one girl didn't know if the hotel had wi-fi! The alarm bells should have rung when we were checking in as the reception desk had a sign saying 'ask about our room upgrades'. When we got to our rooms I knew why this sign was there. The rooms were very dated, tv was ancient, decor old and grubby, lamps had layers of dust, wall were tea and coffee facilities were was covered in tea stains. The bathroom was filthy, pubic hairs found at sink and bath area. The shower hose and head were grimy and caked with dirt. The walls of the bath area had stains all over them and the shower curtain was like a cloth and absolutely stank. To add to all of this a tile came off the bathroom floor and when I alerted the staff to it no apology was made and no effort was made to fix it and no other room was offered to us. Our friends room was just the same, filthy grubby and dated. There was no way I was going to pay another €40 euro to this hotel just to get the type of room we should have been given if this is a 4 star hotel. I went to use the pool area later on in our stay and this proved to be just as disappointing. The ladies changing room was filthy, hairs and dirt all over the floor and several of the lockers were broken. the pool area itself wasn't clean, again hairs and dirt all around, the steam room needed cleaning too. I don't know how the pool got voted best kept pool at all. The location is probably the only thing that is good about this hotel as it is just a short walk along the river to the town. Thankfully Westport is a lovely town with lots to do and great bars and restaurants so we didn't have to spend much time in the hotel. We will definitely be going back to Westport but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great for family break - Kids get seperate treatment leaving Mam and Dad free to explore the area and enjoy the solitude. Food was excellent and location ideal for a stroll into town. Loads to do with full family activities available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Westport for a weekend break. This is a nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff.Our room was on the ground floor, it was spacious, clean and bright. We had only booked for two nights but would loved to have stayed a little longer. The hotel is a short distance from Westport town and is also withing walking distance of Westport House. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which we thought might be a little noisey, but it wasnt. Also bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiseEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel. I found all the staff very friendly, helpful and courteous and made our stay very pleasant. The bedrooms are very clean but the bathrooms could do with an upgrade

Hotel is a short walk from the centre of Westport which I found ideal

There was entertainment in the bar in the evening for those who did not wish to venture out at night

The big advantage is that breakfast is served until 11am every morning

I would gladly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.4 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
0.9 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,091 reviews
0.6 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
927 reviews
0.6 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,695 reviews
1.3 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: ₹ 7,426 - ₹ 15,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing