We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and well-run home from home with young people at heart”
Review of Abbeywood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeywood
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
“A comfortable and well-run home from home with young people at heart”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We have used this hostel with groups of young people as a base for hiking. From the efficient service, rooms accomodating up to 24 or so, to the comfortable lounge and homemade brown bread at breakfast, this facility is perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The single room downstairs is large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 212091Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Spent three mid week nights here with my sister and our children. Between us we had six children ranging from 14 months to 8 years. I was a bit nervous that we might disturb the other guests but it worked out brilliantly and we all had a lovely time thanks to the great staff - in the words of my 8yr old daughter "I loved every moment of our stay".
The staff were absolutely brilliant with the children made them feel very welcome, got them colouring and always had time to ask them about their day. The rooms were perfect for families - we had one room with two bunk beds and a travel cot and a second room for my sister and her two small boys, which had a double bed (for the boys) with a single bunk over. The rooms were spacious and nicely presented - we had an amazing view of Croagh Patrick.
The self catering facilities and lovely dining room suited us perfectly. We even had a BBQ and toasted marshmallows using the BBQ available for guests. The outdoor space - another big plus - was safe and had plenty of grass for the children to run about when we got back from our day out. Once the children where in bed - my sister and I could sit at the outside tables underneath our rooms to enjoy a well earned glass of wine.
Westport is a lovely town - we found a swimming pool and great play park just a short walk from the place. All the shops are a short walk away too. And you don't have to drive too far to find some beautiful beaches and coves to explore - lots of rock pooling.
Would definitely recommend this for families.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I have been bringing adult hill walking groups to Westport for more than ten years now and we have used Abbeywood for most of that time. The hostel suits us very well as we can travel by minibus down to the endless mountains in Conemara, but still be right beside the town of Westport for r&r.

The Hostel is situated a short walk from the town, in a very quiet area, and is set back from the road in nicely kept gardens. One of my favourite activities is relaxing on the seats provided outside the front of the hostel admiring the view of nearby Croagh Patrick.

We have always been made feel very welcome and the staff have gone out of their way to accomodate us. The bedrooms are all bright and clean and towells are provided during your stay. The kitchen, whilst small,is adequate for our groups which can number up to twenty, probably because not everyone will choose to cook and a bright and good sized dining area is situated right beside the kitchen.

A continental breakfast is provided including Susan's legendary fresh brown bread, the smell of which often meets you as you arrive. Showering facilities are good and the large common room suits us well for our planning sessions.

We have already booked for next year and I can thoroughly recomend Abbeywood as a comfortable, friendly, convenient and value for money venue ideal for a base to discover Mayo and Connemara.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcbanbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed at Abbeywood with two female friends. We were greatly impressed. Firstly, with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff there. Then by the cleanliness and comfort of our room, I never slept as well in a hostel! Breakfast was delicious with home-made brown bread, toast, orange juice, tea and coffee, free of charge and we later used the huge kitchen to make our meals.
There was a great vibe at the hostel and the proprietor was very friendly. Great view of Croagh Patrick from our room too! I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abiwalsh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed here with my friend (2 females) for €30 each per night. We thought it was lovely and comfortable. It was basic but had everything you need - I slept great! Rooms were spotless and bathroom/shower facilities were fantastic. We found other hotels in Westport to be far too overpriced and not worth the money. They were also full of hen/stag nights. Abbeywood was very chilled out and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was included (much nicer than the irish 'fry') and it was very quiet at night. I love Mayo, especially walking and hiking - will be returning to Mayo soon and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helgamena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
848 reviews
1.9 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
920 reviews
0.3 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,057 reviews
0.6 km away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
843 reviews
0.3 km away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeywood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeywood

Property: Abbeywood
Address: Wood Cottage Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,287 - ₹ 7,069
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What do you look for in a place to stay? Do you find hotels too expensive? B&Bs too claustrophobic and hostels too communal? Abbeywood gives you the best of all three...A former monastery, still retaining many of its original features such as stained glass windows, polished wood floors and high ceilings. Its situation, set in off the road in its own grounds makes it hard to believe it's so close to the centre of town. Come see us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Abbeywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing