We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Clew Bay Hotel in Westport”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

What a fantastic time we had in Westport and what made our stay so enjoyable and memorable was the top class service and hospitality we received from maria and all in the Clew Bay Hotel. Nothing is too much,with everything from driving us to newport to start our cycling trip to giving us great tips on local amenities and places to eat and visit.we had lovely wholesome breakfasts and ate a very tasty meal in the restaurant one of the evenings.The location right in the centre of Westport makes every thing in the town so accessible.It was our first time in Westport but we will definitely be back again very soon in the future and when we do it will definitely be the Clew Bay Hotel that we will stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

917 - 921 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We cycled to Westport on the 30/09/2011 and we had booked into the Clew Bay the staff could not have been any more helpfull they had some where to store our bikes and looked after us so well and went out of there way to look after some of the people who hurt themselfs on the way down. The room were nice and clean as was all the rest of the hotel. So a big Thanks to all at the Clew Bay we will be seeing ye very soon again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrOllie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel is a gem of a place as good as most four star hotels. Only small complaints were not on site parking and a half dozen steps to lift a babies buggy up and down for breakfast, but apart from that, everything was better than expected. Staff very knowledgable, friendly and helpful. As we had a seventeen month old child, we were put in a bigger room at no extra cost. This room was more accessable. the room was very clean, bed very comfortable and the facilities perfect.

The bar was comfortable, bright and well staffed. The bar staff were effecient and friendly. Maybe, they could get german draft beer in the future.

All in all a great hotel and and would definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazarus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chasiof, Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, at the Clew Bay Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I can understand your frustration regarding carrying your buggy down the steps, however the lift to the left brings you down to the Restaurant level and is accessible for buggys and wheelchairs. Also there is a public car park next door to the hotel and there is a small charge of €3.00 for 24hr parking.
I do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clew Bay Hotel.
Kind regards
Darren Madden
Proprietor/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel is in the heart of town within walking distance of most attractions. Our room overlooked the river and was well appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficient. The only drawback is no parking included. However there is a car park very close and the front desk sells a 24 hour parking pass for 3 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Clew Bay mid week during the summer. We got a very good deal on the internet which included two nights B+B, one evening dinner, transport to and from Croagh Patrick with a packed lunch for the trip!! The room and food were lovely, great atmosphere in the hotel but the main strengths lies with the staff. Every staff member was extremely helpful, friendly and really made our stay at the hotel very enjoyable!! I would highly recommend the Clew Bay Hotel for couples, friends and families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
917 reviews
1.7 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
989 reviews
1.1 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,691 reviews
0.3 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
1.0 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range: ₹ 4,134 - ₹ 10,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing