We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Study break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Ballyhaunis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Study break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I booked an apartment here recently as I wanted uninterupted quiet time to study for upcoming exams.I asked for peace and quiet and that is what I got, even though the place was hopping with other guests. My apartment was on the fouth floor at the back and was exactly what I needed. Having the on-site health suite was a brilliant relaxer at the end of the day and the location on the Quays is great for a morning 'wake-up' walk. These apartments have everything you need for that perfect break.......the essential makings of a cup of tea were a welcome addition. Many thanks to all the staff who I found to be very helpful and pleasant. Highly reccommend the Harbour Mills.

Room Tip: If its a view you want then front facing apartments are what you need but overlooking a well planted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you very much for such lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
I will ensure that all staff are made aware of such positive feedback and I wish you well with your exam results.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    134
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
266
101
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Lovely harbour views from our apartment.Very nice apartment.Living room with kitchen and dining area. 2 bedrooms, 1 ensuite. Wine bar with excellent large children's play area. Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Good restaurants very close. Westport House and gardens also very near. Can walk to Westport on Greenway (used to be railway line) or through Westport House gardens. We loved Westport and the Harbour Mill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

You have read all the other great reviews
well, I totally agree with them

Great location, great for families, fantastic staff, excellent kids area, spacious, good value

Good restaurants beside hotel, The Helm, Fish Works etc

Was my first time in Westport, however I will be returning soon to The harbour mIll!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirishweeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments, I am please to read you that you enjoyed your visit with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Mill soon.
Kind regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family of four stayed here over Easter weekend. This was our second time staying here. The location is approx 1 km outside Westport town. The apartments are comfortable and well furnished with all amenities. We enjoyed ourselves despite the indifferent weather, cycled part of the Greenway, did Westport House, Achill Island, etc. When we arrived, and for the duration of our stay, we noticed a very strong smell of floor varnish throughout the apartment. We had a problem with a radiator in one of the rooms, and after contacting reception this was fixed within minutes. I would agree with the previous contributor that most of the spaces in the car park are ridiculously tight, most people simply took both spaces. If you stay here, make sure to check out "The Helm" ( just 30m to right of front door ) for good food and athmosphere. All in all, this is a good place to base yourself if your in Westport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOHSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are currently in the process of re- varnishing the floors in the apartments and I do apologise for the smell. Yes, some of the spaces in the car park are tight and we would appreciate if drivers would park within the outlined spaces suitable to their car size. We also have ample parking to the front of the building which is free of charge. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and in Westport, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Harbour Mill Apartments for 5 nights with our 3 children (6, 4 and 2). We booked a "penthouse apartment". Be warned this is not a penthouse. It is just an apartment on the top floor, maybe a little bigger than your average apartment but definitely not worthy of the title 'penthouse'. The balcony was an opening in the roof and our children had to be lifted up to see the view. The balcony was tiny.
The accommodation / apartment itself was lovely. Nice leather couches and kitchen was well equipped. However there was a smell of cleaning products in the apartment which lasted the entire stay, even with the windows open 12 hours a day. The heat in the apartment at night time was stiffling. It wasn't a particularly warm spell the week we stayed (in fact it was raining most days) but the heat at night time was overbearing.
My last gripe was the car parking in the underground carpark. The spaces were too close together. Very difficult to park.
Overall we enjoyed the stay. As I previously mentioned the apartment was lovely. Westport is a beautiful town and there were plenty of activities for kids, esp Westport House and Gardens which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit.
I was sorry to read that you did not find our Penthouse Apartment to your satisfaction. This apartment type differs from the Harbour View apartment in that it is on the top floor and features a living flame fire and open balcony. Building regulations require that the minimum height of balconies is 1.2 metres and, for Health & Safety reasons, we cannot permit furniture on the balcony. This is to prevent children from climbing over the balcony and falling (the apartment is 5 stories high).
We receive our 4 star rating from Fáilte Ireland and feel our service and apartment standards reflect this. We are currently in the process of changing the name to Deluxe Apartment, so hopefully this will describe the apartment more accurately and not cause confusion to future guests.
With reference to the heat, we do have the heat switched on for guests when they arrive and this can be controlled within the apartment. We do have a 24-hour reception where someone would have been happy to help if you require.
Our car park provides 50 spaces and during busy periods it can be difficult for particularly big cars to park. We do encourage guests to park where suitable and parking outside of the building is also free of charge.
Westport town has a lot to offer and Westport House is a great amenity, we are so fortunate to be within walking distance to the grounds and park. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.9 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
1.6 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
1.7 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
2.7 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,123 - ₹ 15,861
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing