We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
140
14
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
14
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hostess mary our ground floor room on arrival town centre pot of tea make tea nice breakfast within walking distance convenient location home from home train station room was large both mornings full irish greenway
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We found the accommodation to be quaint in a quiet and peaceful area. Our hostess Mary is very friendly and very helpful with all aspects of our visit to Westport. Our room was clean and tidy. We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coral G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My brother and I enjoyed a memorably pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Altamont B&B last week. We chose the location online for its close proximity to the railway station as we were travelling by train. We read the many reviews praising Mary for her warm welcome and hospitality to all her guests. We can say that this is all so ever true and so much more. Mary greeted us with great warmth and kindness and showed us to our ground floor room with a view looking out into her lovely garden. This was essential for us as I have a disability which precludes climbing stairs. Shortly afterwards in the lounge we were treated to tea, sandwiches and cake with lots of cordial chat and good cheer. Nothing is ever too much trouble for Mary and she has built up an extensive network of regular visitors and friends over the years who keep coming back. So many delightful testimonials in the visitors' penned by guests from France, Germany, the USA and Canada, Belgium and Switzerland, and that was only one page. Mary makes you feel truly at home away from home. Westport is an elegant and thriving town where we enjoyed a very pleasant couple of days: everyone was just so nice, friendly and helpful. We were set up for the day with a most ample and delightful breakfast both mornings, the full Irish together with strawberries and blueberries providing added taste and zest. We were referred to an excellent local restaurant in the town centre for evening meal. Mary does everything humanly possible to ensure her guests have a wonderful time. She truly is the very best hostess and the most thoughtful and gracious. We were given additional breakfast helpings on our final morning for the long journey home. We most certainly will be back and look forward to meeting Mary again and may it not be too long before we find ourselves staying at the comfortable and charming Altamont House, Westport.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Mary was a wonderful hostess with good tips on where to eat dinner in Westport. Altamount is not right downtown, but an easy walk to the Clock Tower and Westport entertainment. Very nice breakfast and she kindly stored our bags for the day as we biked to the Achill Island. Simple but sufficient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

My 2 sisters and I recently spent 5 days here. The house was clean, lovely, and comfortable. Mary is a delightful hostess! The breakfasts were wonderful and she serves the best bacon I have ever had across the Atlantic. The house is very conveniently located to the town center ( which is very fun), the Greenway, and the train station. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay! The B&B is clean, cozy, and inviting. We're a family of 5 and found nothing lacking with our stay. The breakfast was delicious and kept us fueled for the whole day. Mary the hostess is a warm, friendly woman. She took great care of us. She's truly a delightful woman. We hope to return to Westport in the future and would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Osteobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews