We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The d Hotel(Drogheda)(Great Value!)
US$ 214
US$ 146
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westcourt Hotel(Drogheda)
US$ 147
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenside Hotel(Drogheda)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conyngham Arms Hotel(Slane)(Great Value!)
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
US$ 90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellingham Castle(Castlebellingham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
331
140
48
19
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
140
48
19
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristian brothersrooms are smallfour poster bedpresidential suiteold worldbeautiful buildingmain coursechowderan overnight staylovely foodbar and restauranttop classtown centrefull irishlovely hoteldublin airportboyne valley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Greeted by friendly, helpful staff. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely huge bed. After a peaceful night's sleep we were treated to a lovely breakfast with great service. We can highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Keren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The website looks great but is somewhat misleading when it comes to the rooms. The hotel building has a history, no one can deny that. And that history includes expensively wooden panelled walls in all public areas. The panelling, in conjunction with the numerous artefacts give the hotel reception and public areas a certain charm, some might say, or others a tweeness. It really is a matter of taste. Like it or loathe it the staff is friendly, and very attentive. On top of that the food is good quality, although the menu and the website dinner photographs appear to be only loosely connected friends.

Now we come to the rooms.

The website shows you a large room with four-poster. This, it must be said, is not indicative of what is mostly available, although photographs of the most common rooms are not presented.

The rooms are converted out of former Christian Brothers' cells and in their earliest incarnation would have been sparse. Into this has been installed an en suite bathroom which is so small it is more spacious to dry off in the shower. Space is at a premium, but this hotel then puts in the largest beds money can buy. In our room we had to squeeze sideways past the bed to get into and out of it. There is one chair, a wardrobe with six hangers! (only 6), a built-in corner unit that is a total waste of space, and a mirror that measures about 8' by 4'. Who actually needs a mirror this size? There is no chair for the second occupant, no writing desk, and a TV so small by modern standards that post-card size seems the most appropriate description. And this was the second room we were put into. The first one smelled of vomit!

I am not the first to make complaints about this hotel, but if the comments by the owner on some of those is anything to go buy then the second problem is the owner himself.

It seems from reading critical comments that the owner cannot take constructive criticism at all, but indulges instead in guest assassination. If he cannot accept justified criticism - the rooms are small - then he will never capitalse on the wonderful asset that is the original building.

And on the point of original, the so-called wood panelling in the bedrooms is not original. It is cheap and tacky, with out-dated radiator coverings, worn fittings and chipped corners. Heating is old-fashioned and cannot be controlled in the room. As a result one suffers either arctic cold or Saharan heatwaves. There appears to be nothing in between.

As a result I fail to see how this hotel gets 3* where only 2* are merited. On that point the room rate is over-priced.

Go and visit for the food. Go elsewhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

A reasonably regular patron of Scholars, I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent menu in the restaurant recently following a business meeting.

Although Scholars had been my most favorite restaurant for that special occasion I had been disappointed on previous visits and more recently just frequented the bar for their menu when meeting friends and business associates.

However as a guest recently I was treated to dinner in the restaurant and was delighted to find a new menu reminding me of the earlier days when everything on the menu was tempting and tasty. Well done Scholars. Glad that the restaurant is now catering for a wider variety of patrons who enjoy a more modest but quality menu again!
I’ll be back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank LouthExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea with friends. The food was delicious, great selection of bites to eat and the atmosphere was so relaxing.. we were there for 3 hours without realising it and at no time were we made feel under pressure to finish up!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Good place to be 1 or 2 nights.. good restaurant.. 75 euro night is the second time.. in my opinion is the best place in drogheda.

Good beers ...better whysky.. and the breaksfast is really good no very expensive

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Francisco Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews