We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A chance to experience new ingredients” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A chance to experience new ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Having read the wonderful reviews, I was looking forward to my visit to "The Kitchen" and I wasn't disappointed. With a cosy interior and candlelit tables, a good choice of ingredients on menu and a concise, descriptive wine list we definitely got off to a good start. Our food arrived promptly, was piping hot and delicious. Yummy chocolate pots for dessert followed by good coffees completed the meal. The waitress and owners were friendly and it was definitely "service with a smile" but if I had any complaint it would be that we were left to pour our own wine and water and feel for the ninety euro bill for two this is a service that should have been provided. Aside from this we had a really enjoyable evening and are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    37
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
“Loving it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The whole package is great. Lovely restaurant, lovely staff and more than lovely food!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“poor again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

starter was ok. nothing to impressive. the main was a disaster. walnut sauce and brill. sounded great. was so dry and sauce was more of a puree with as much walnut flavor as peanut butter. the dessert was a chocolate pot that had a skin on it. poor coffee. overall disappointed.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank redlippednora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The significant other is veggie limited lunch menu I had a lovely cheese and ham sandwich on sourdough bread with an excellent coffee. The evening menu is limited and seats are very near rach other so more lunch than dinner. The staff were very friendly and I will be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toohotinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Out of this world slow cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Went in the evening with ten friends. Slow roast lamb was the best I've ever had. Really great menu. Staff were quick and full of smiles. Mind you what stood out for me was the chef, he loves to chat about his recipes etc.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankascanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing