We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for casual food & drinks”
Review of Black Bull Inn

Black Bull Inn
Ranked #16 of 129 Restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Great food menu & a really nice newly decorated bar. They have a restaurant, a lounge and a bar. All are great. Good pints and prosecco on tap !!!

Thank Keighlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, General Manager at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Keighlea

Thank you so much for your amazing review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The food was an and jay was so kind he allways had a smile on his face loved it definitely would come back

Thank joshybossy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for you lovely review and it is always a pleasure to look after you. Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Used to visit this restaurant regularly when on trips to Dublin from Belfast. The menu now is only what can be described as basic. My wife complained to a head waitress about a main course Goats cheese salad she ordered. It was nothing but lettuce leaves with a few marble sized cheese balls and baby tomatoes. The menu stated it was with walnuts. When we complained they brought us out a side of walnuts and almonds at the end of our meal. The response from the staff was nothing short of dismissive. We will never eat there again. No allowance was made with our bill. My order of Thai Red curry chicken was mediocre and gloopy. Not impressed.

Thank stuart j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Stuart

I am sorry you were not happy on your last visit to us, we always welcome feedback wheter it is good or bad. I will pass your comments to our head Chef and if you would like to discuss it further then please dont hesitate to contact me on 041-9837139

Regards
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Called for lunch midweek. A few people dining but it may have been busier earlier. Place was bright and warm ( a little too warm perhaps) and the staff were efficient and friendly.
Service was prompt. The garlic mushrooms were to die for. However while the batter was scrumptious, the cod was not that fresh. This may have been due to the recent bad weather and non availability of fresh produce. If so I would suggest taking the item off the menu until availability improves.

Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi John

Thank you for taking time to write your review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us and thank you for your feedback. I have passed your comments to our Head Chef and look forward to looking after you again in the near future.

Regards
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Was a relatively regular visitor to the bull but after having a disappointing Sunday lunch a few weeks ago noticing that there is a new menu which is very limited compared to the old favourites. Gave the benefit of the doubt and tried it again on a Saturday for lunch and instead of the plentiful previous menu found that it was a lacklustre Sunday lunch menu on offer.

Please blackbull bring back something a bit more. Steak sandwiches, ciabattas, pulled pork, pasta options.. Bull was famous for its quality food and menu but whether it’s a new chef or whatever ye should maybe have a rethink?

Thank DDarko84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Donny

Thank you for taking time to write your review, we always welcome the feedback. As you know us here at the Bull you know we are all about our amazing customers. We listened to everyone asking us to make some changes so we introduced a new menu. Some were delighted and some were not, so we listened again and made changes to bring back some of the dearly missed dishes. We are constantly trying to improve and sometimes trying something new doesnt always work, but the important thing is that we listen and quickly change it back. I hope to see you again in the near future and please feel free to ask if your desired dish is not on our menu as Chef would be delighted to accomadate you if possible.

Regards
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bull Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing