We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

lovely hotel clean room fantastic beautiful view of the river. ate in little restaurant the french table just up from hotel a definite must.

Room Tip: ask for room high up views amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review. Delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. The French Table is a great restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    383
    176
    63
    42
See reviews for
188
362
44
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
299 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Checkin was a doddle, fast and efficient.

We had purchased 2 nights B&B, including Irish breakfasts and 1 evening dinner.
Dinner was in the bar/lounge area and we were given the set menu.  A huge choice of starters, mains and sweets.
it was a really hard choice to make but in the end I opted for the Crispy suckling pork belly with a lovely soya ginger glaze sauce, followed by home made steak burger with chunky chips then cheesecake. My wife chose the Veg spring rolls with sweet chilli sauce, then breast of chicken with a creamy cajun sauce and then ice cream basket and fruits.
Both of us enjoyed every part of the meal, it was perfect in every way.
Internet - although its free wifi throughout the hotel and wired in the rooms, we were both using our iPads and iPhones to connect. The signal was extremely  weak in the room but my wife's iPad 1 picked up a signal, whilst my iPad 2 nor iPhone 4 could not get a signal.
As the hotel uses wifi repeaters on each floor, theoretically, you don't need security keys. That would be great if you could get a signal.
In the reception and lobby area you get free wifi BUT you need to get the secruity codes daily from reception.  The downside is that every time you let the iPad go into sleep mode, you had to rekey the user ID and password. This was a real pain and easily avoidable if the hotel configures  its wifi differently.

Bedrooms - very large room with a great view over the Shannon river. Bathroom was large and had a large bath tub and decent shower. The bed was gigantic and don't know how to describe it.  Comfy duvet and comfy bed - so we got a good sleep.
Tea and coffee making facility in the room, iron, AC/heater, work desk and the room had plenty of electric sockets in easy reach and accessible.  There was a fridge in the room but it was empty!!
Wired internet connection at the workdesk.  There were 2 arm chairs and a table.  The only downside of the room was the TV was very old and would probably have been very advanced back in the early 90s.

Breakfast - breakfast was served in the Sinergie restaurant. And again a great view of the Shannon River from the restaurant.  Lots of windows made it bright and airy.
Buffet was really excellent and you could order any 'specials' you might like e.g. salmon and scrambled eggs, Benedict or any type of omelet and poached or fried.
Buffet included bacon, sausage, black & white puddings, beans, scrambled eggs, potato hash-brown type thing.  Lots of different breads and a proper working automatic toaster. Danish and croissants along with cold starters such as hams, sausage, cheeses, fruit etc.
Coffee was the proper stuff - fresh, strong and very tasty.

Alcoholic drinks was expensive at the bar and I heard a few Irish visitors ask the barman to confirm the price they had just paid. 

Parking - we offloaded the cases at the hotel entrance and then after depositing them in the room, took the car to a nearby multi storey car park, less than 1 minute from the hotel.  Cost is 7.50 a day and you can get a card from the hotel if you plan to use the car park a lot during the day.

Room Tip: higher up rooms have superior views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review on our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your experience at the Clarion Hotel Limerick. We are currently working on the 2 area’s that you have highlighted in your review, we will have 100mb free wifi throughout the hotel within the next 2 weeks and we are also in the process of buying new flat screen tv’s for all our 158 bedrooms, this should be completed by June 12. We are always reinvesting in our product to ensure that we are continuing to meet the expectations of our customers. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed one night for work.Room large and quiet .Great reiver view but windows small and high up you have to stand to see out properly,strange for a newish hotel.Room well equipped.One of the 3 beds had a slightly dipped matteress but there were 2 more.The front desk was very helpful.Breakfast was good.Fresh fruit nice room.Dinner slightly strange bar like room oriental food Limerick style but edible.Certainly a lot better than the Maldron and less noisey than the George.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreganoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for recommending us ahead of some of our competitors. We offer Thai food in our Kudos bar area however we do also have a European menu that is available 7 days a week. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

When first booked in, found room a bit small for me and my companion. I was kindly moved to another bigger room, and was satisfied with the room size. Great view of the city, central, and the reception and bar staff were very helpfull. Although I was not overawed by the hotel, it is in the top half of hotels in the city

Room Tip: Car park nearby, but a charge is applied
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcOMaoldomhnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am however disappointed with your comment “above average”. Please feel free to email me at ituohy@clarionhotellimerick.com with any additional comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

just back from a lovely break in a very nice city with lots of shops for the girls and plenty of pubs for the boys,but down to brass tacks,this is a lovely hotel,beginning with the check in,this girl was so good,nothing was any trouble this or that ,no problem,great start,this continued with all of the staff we met,bar,restaurent,the lady who serviced our room and what a room[no 603] it was a BIG,beautiful bed,you know the ones you cannot get out of in the morning ,then a lovely breakfast,it put two old-timers in great form for the day
we will be back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank referee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for sharing your wonderful comments to the traveling public. Limerick is a great city with over 50 things to see and do, just check out our website. We work hard to ensure that all our staff are friendly and welcoming and that as you say, nothing is ever any trouble. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.4 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
0.7 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.6 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.5 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,353 - ₹ 13,289
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing