We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

just back from a lovely break in a very nice city with lots of shops for the girls and plenty of pubs for the boys,but down to brass tacks,this is a lovely hotel,beginning with the check in,this girl was so good,nothing was any trouble this or that ,no problem,great start,this continued with all of the staff we met,bar,restaurent,the lady who serviced our room and what a room[no 603] it was a BIG,beautiful bed,you know the ones you cannot get out of in the morning ,then a lovely breakfast,it put two old-timers in great form for the day
we will be back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank referee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for sharing your wonderful comments to the traveling public. Limerick is a great city with over 50 things to see and do, just check out our website. We work hard to ensure that all our staff are friendly and welcoming and that as you say, nothing is ever any trouble. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    387
    178
    64
    43
See reviews for
193
365
46
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork/london/dublin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel as a second option and wish we hadnt.The lit up photos and images look grand in the pictures yet arriving at this property is a different experience.This is definitely not a four star and its situation leaves a lot to be desired. Lovely views from reasonably sized yet not spacious bedroom overlooking the river and lovely restaurant and food but there is that something missing .
You arrive down a narrow road adjacent to a massive eyesore of a scrapyard and realise there is no free or indeed available parking., we had two cars so that was a pain.The entrance area of the hotel is a little tatty and all the shops and units opposite closed down and the balconies of the flats above a real eyesore in places.
Upon entering the hotel around 4pm there was an overwhelming smell of chlorine and apart from the lovely reastaurant a seeming lack of space,care and attention . Went into the Kudos bar where there was an argument going on about service and the poor quality of the food. Many of the tables had dishes and cups/glasses , food bits on the floor and in the carpet and there was only one poor girll rushed off her feet to do all the serving and clearing,yet staff and chefs tooing and frooing across the area..After a bit of negotiation we were allowed to sit by the window with a lovely view of the river as the argument went on and ended ith the staff member just shrugging their shoulders and the customers exiting disatisfied.
The childrens play area was large but an utter mess and tipped everywhere an eyesore if you want a relaxing drink and time.
The good point is that it is so close to the heart of the city and all its amenities and walkable.
A shame that our experience of the hotel environs and Kudos Bar area on the ground floor area was so out of keeping with the rest of the hotel.A 3 star rating would be more realistic and the ambience, atmosphere, service and staffing of the Kudos area needs improving.Would we return? On this showing probably not.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank odysseus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you wished that you had stayed else where. This is certainly not the norm at my hotel and I would urge you to contact me directly to discuss your experience with me. We are the only hotel in Limerick to be located right on the river Shannon. Thank you for highlighting our lovely views and great food. As our hotel is located on the river, it is also close to the working Limerick Port Area which is full of history as it dates back to the 3rd century and it is even reported that St. Patrick visited this area in the 5th century. In days gone by, the Vikings passed our hotel on a daily basis. I believe that the history and culture of the area out ways the working dock as it is today. We always tell our customers about our car parking arrangements and as a city centre hotel, it is common practice not to have your own car park. The multi story is adjacent to us and is open 24 hrs and is safe and secure. In general I receive great feedback from all our customers. Again I am very disappointed to hear of your experience and I look forward to hearing from you directly. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy, General Manager, Clarion Hotel Limerick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here 5 years ago for our 1st wedding anniversary and absolutley loved the place.. We returned in Feb for a 2 night stay and again, we just loved every second of it.. Room was fabulous.. 11th floor looking right down on the River Shannon.. Bar is very relaxing and food is delicious.. Reception staff very friendly.. I highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us after such a long time. The river views from all our bedrooms are fabulous. Make sure that you don’t leave it as long for your next visit. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend in the clarion. Hotel was fab, staff couldn't do enough, hotel room was very clean & cosy with lovely view of river. Centrally located. Already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aideen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Aideen, Thank you for your review and for sharing your wonderful comments to the traveling public. We get so many compliments regarding our staff and food and we do pay extra attention to the cleanliness of our bedrooms and public areas. Thank you for noticing. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed there this past weekend. Fine in every way really except I would call it a good 3 star hotel and not 4 star. It just lacked that extra touch that makes 4 star hotels. (their hotel in IFSC Dublin would be a justified 4 star though). One small gripe. I booked a double bed using their own website but when we got to our room, it was just 2 twin beds. There should have been a little more attention paid by the receptionist to check the booking details before allocating us the wrong room. We had arrived late and were rushing to change and meet friends for dinner elsewhere so didn't have the time to call downstairs to be reallocated a new room and just took what we got.

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were allocated the incorrect room type and that this has impacted negatively on the impression of our hotel. Our staff at reception generally receive great praise for been helpful and accommodating. It is such a pity that you did not highlight this mistake while staying here and we would have changed your room immediately, we would even have moved all your luggage and have left new keys for you as you were rushing to meet your friends. We would consider ourselves one of the leading 4 star hotels in Limerick and the wider mid western region. I hope that you will consider us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.4 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.7 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.6 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.5 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,852 - ₹ 14,351
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing