We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and value”
Review of Spice of India

Spice of India
Ranked #54 of 300 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Nice location on the first floor over looking Henry St. The restaurant looks lovely but is very cold, bring your jacket if you intend going to the bathrooms on the second floor!

The service was attentive and helpful without being overpowering. Our food arrived in an orderly fashion with exactly the right amount of time between course.

For starters we had onion bhaji and the mixed platter. The lamb on the mixed platter was particularly good. For mains we had chicken tikka masala and bombay aloo. Both were very tasty though the potatoes were on the dry side. We washed it all down with some Cobra and Kingfisher beers and a couple of espressos.

The only down side? The toilets really could do with a good scrub!

I would recommend this restaurant without reservation and I will definitely return the next time I am in Limerick.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lollymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    53
    8
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love the food”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have never dined in the restaurant but I get take away regulary and I have to say the nicest Indian food in Limerick. I recommend the Tikka Masala, Keema Mata and King prawn chilli massala. The staff are very friendly and the prices are quite reasnoble.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misscasey1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow !!! Food was beautiful.”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Lovely young girl served us and the early bird was exceptinal value. Food was top notch and the wife raved about it. Will definately be a regular. Great menu and they will cater for you if you cant find something on the menu. Is definately the best Indian in Limerick City.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LimerickCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a friendly atmosphere with great service”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is one of the best Indian restaurants that I have visited, excellent value for money, staff are friendly and informative and the food can be customized to your own requirements (spicyness etc..) I will be going back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eugcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballingarry, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

very good indian restaurant with a good choice of dishes , located on o connell street. good value early bird menu.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank irishfamilyman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice of India also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Annacotty, County Limerick
 

Been to Spice of India? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing